Del Shannon Definitive Collection [Recall] (2-CD)

Definitive Collection [Recall] (2-CD)
5 ratings
Price: $10.79
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32E3R
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 16, 1998
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Recall Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Runaway
  • 2.Running Scared
  • 3.Hats Off to Larry
  • 4.(Marie's the Name) His Latest Flame
  • 5.I Wake Up Crying
  • 6.Cold, Cold Heart
  • 7.Crying
  • 8.So Long Baby
  • 9.Runaround Sue
  • 10.Hey Little Girl
  • 11.Hey Baby
  • 12.Dream Baby
  • 13.She Cried
  • 14.She Thinks I Still Care
  • 15.Cry Myself to Sleep
  • 16.The Swiss Maid
  • 17.I Can't Help It (If I'm Still in Love With You)
  • 18.Go Away Little Girl
  • 19.Your Cheatin' Heart
  • 20.Little Town Flirt

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Ruby Baby
  • 2.Two Kinds of Teardrops
  • 3.Kelly
  • 4.Twist and Shout
  • 5.From Me to You
  • 6.Two Silhouettes
  • 7.Sue's Gotta Be Mine
  • 8.Needles and Pins
  • 9.Mary Jane
  • 10.Sorry (I Ran All the Way Home)
  • 11.A World Without Love
  • 12.Memphis
  • 13.Rag Doll
  • 14.Handy Man
  • 15.Do You Want to Dance?
  • 16.I'm Gonna Be Strong
  • 17.Keep Searchin' (We'll Follow the Sun)
  • 18.I Go to Pieces
  • 19.Stranger in Town
  • 20.Break Up

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Roger Dopson.
Though the import Charly collection, which also calls itself The Definitive Collection goes a lot deeper with 20 tracks' worth, this double-disc set by Recall is nothing to sneeze at. First off, there are 40 tunes here, and virtually every major and regional hit Del Shannon recorded. Secondly, in comparison, there is a lot less album fodder, which is especially useful when considering Shannon recorded primarily during an era in which the single was king, maybe two, and virtually everything else was used to fill up LP sides. Shannon was a covers artist; he was a singer of rock and pop songs used to fill jukeboxes, late night radio, and hits collections issued by various personality DJs. His one monster smash, "Runaway," was written by Max Crook and issued in 1961. It was a long hard road down after that, but Shannon was able to ride the rock & roll slide for quite awhile, scoring to a lesser degree with his own "Hats Off to Larry," and "So Long Baby," a cover of Dion's "Runaround Sue," and Doc Pomus' "(Marie's The Name) of His Latest Flame," to name a few. (Why the late Pomus' amazing "You Never Talked About Me" isn't included is a mystery considering it is the definitive' performance of the tune and scored higher on the charts than any other version.) There are great songs included in this mix, such as Shannon's "I Go to Pieces," Barry Mann's "I'm Gonna Be Strong," Otis Blackwell's "Handy Man," and an excellent version of Sonny Bono's "Needles and Pins," which may not be Jackie DeShannon's version but is far better than many of the others out there. Recommended. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Del Shannon

Product Info

  • UPC: 636551419727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)