Ray Price The Essential Ray Price

The Essential Ray Price
28 ratings
Only 6 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 23661
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 1/24/92, p.58
"..a consumate balladeer [and] inventor of the "Ray Price beat"...proves the lasting influence of [Price].."


  • 1.If You're Ever Lonely Darling
  • 2.The Road Of No Return
  • 3.Talk To Your Heart
  • 4.Move On In And Stay
  • 5.I'll Be There
  • 6.Release Me
  • 7.I Can't Go Home Like This
  • 8.You Done Me Wrong
  • 9.Falling Falling Falling
  • 10.Wasted Words
  • 11.Crazy Arms
  • 12.I've Got A New Heartache
  • 13.My Shoes Keep Walking Back To You
  • 14.Invitation To The Blues
  • 15.City Lights
  • 16.Heartaches By The Number
  • 17.The Same Old Me
  • 18.One More Time
  • 19.Heart Over Mind
  • 20.Pride

Product Description:

The compilers at Columbia Records have put together a fantastic best-of collection with THE ESSENTIAL RAY PRICE. Taken from the first 11 years of Price's recording career, it displays the Texas singer at his finest. By the mid-1960s, Price had radically altered his approach to music, adopting a countrypolitan ballad style of singing, and leaving behind his honky-tonk roots, including his nasal Hank Williams-influenced vocal style.
However, THE ESSENTIAL RAY PRICE presents the country legend in his exciting honky-tonk years, making the music that would later be embraced so widely by the "New Traditionalists" in the '80s. Using Hank Williams's famous back-up band, the Drifting Cowboys, Price excels on "The Road of No Return," "Talk to Your Heart," and others. On these 20 tracks, the influence of Williams is evident, but there are also signs of an innovative artist beginning to bloom. Programmed in chronological order, the collection reveals the changes in Price's singing style as the disc plays out. Towards the end of the compilation, particularly on "Heart over Mind" and "Pride," Price's voice deepens, losing much of its twang, but gaining a smoky maturity.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ray Price

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 10,687
  • UPC: 886972366128
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Country Tailgate Sale:

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)