Rosemary Clooney Jazz Singer

Jazz Singer
13 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
SALE: $5.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2.01 (25% Off)
or Mix & Match 10 CDs for $49.90
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  SSP 23955
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  • 2.I'll Be Around
  • 3.How About You
  • 4.Blues In The Night
  • 5.Memories Of You
  • 6.I'm Checkin' Out, Goombye
  • 7.What Is There To Say
  • 8.The Lady Is A Tramp
  • 9.Bad News
  • 10.Hey Baby
  • 11.It's Bad For Me
  • 12.A Touch Of The Blues
  • 13.Together
  • 14.Learnin' The Blues
  • 15.Doncha Go 'Way Mad
  • 16.Sophisticated Lady
  • 17.Come Rain Or Come Shine
  • 18.Goodbye

Product Description:

Personnel: Rosemary Clooney (vocals); Duke Ellington (arranger, piano); Martin Berman, Gene Cipriano, Ted Nash (saxophone); Willie Cook, Ray Nance, Clark Terry, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Benny Goodman (clarinet); Milton Weiser (violin); Sidney Brecher (viola); Raoul Sims (cello); Billy Strayhorn, Dick Hyman (piano); Mundell Lowe, Tony Rizzi (guitar); Jimmy Woode (bass); Sam Woodyard, Alvin Stoller, Bobby Donaldson (drums); The Paramount Studio Orchestra, Nelson Riddle Orchestra, The Hi-Lo's, Ray Charles Singers.
Producers: Irwin Townsend, Paul Weston, Mitch Miller.
Compilation producers: Michael Feinstein, Didier C. Deutsch.
Recorded between 1951 and 1957. Includes liner notes by Michael Feinstein.
Rosemary Clooney often worked with arrangers who stressed the pop or cabaret aspects of her singing. Of course, she was also a superb jazz vocalist, and, when paired with artists such as pianist/composer Duke Ellington and clarinetist Benny Goodman, her musical gift shone even brighter.
The serene, melancholy "Memories of You" underscores the affinity shared between Clooney and the Goodman trio. This track begins with Goodman's unembellished reading of the tune. However, when Clooney sings, Goodman and pianist Teddy Wilson answer her with virtuosic countermelodies. On this selection, Clooney sings in a lower key, which adds an extra dose of sultriness to the proceedings. Another significant track is "I'm Checkin' Out, Goombye," which showcases the triple threat of Clooney, Ellington, and Goodman. On this tune, Ellington's arrangement sparkles with rich colors and textures, Goodman's solo is light and whimsical, and Clooney's voice is articulate yet carefree.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Rosemary Clooney

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 36,092
  • UPC: 886972395524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Bargain Audio CDs & Priceless Collection Product Series:

Pop Vocal: Classic Music Categories:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)