Tony Bennett The Ultimate Tony

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
The Ultimate Tony
10% OFF
Rating 4.7
35 ratings
List Price: $7.98
You Save: 80¢ (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  CBS 63570

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: October 3, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 12/1/00, p.103
"...A well-chosen collection....reaffirming Bennett's evolving vocal artistry." - Rating: A


  • 1.I Left My Heart In San Francisco
  • 2.Because Of You
  • 3.Rags To Riches
  • 4.Just In Time
  • 5.Stranger In Paradise
  • 6.The Boulevard Of Broken Dreams
  • 7.I Wanna Be Around
  • 8.The Good Life
  • 9.The Shadow Of Your Smile
  • 10.Put On A Happy Face
  • 11.If I Ruled The World
  • 12.Smile
  • 13.Night And Day
  • 14.How Do You Keep The Music Playing
  • 15.Mood Indigo
  • 16.Blue Velvet
  • 17.Steppin' Our With My Baby
  • 18.When Joana Loved Me
  • 19.When Do The Bells Ring For Me
  • 20.The Best Is Yet To Come

Product Description:

Personnel: Tony Bennett (vocals); Jimmy Rowles, Tommy Flanagan (piano).
Liner Note Authors: Frank Sinatra; Tony Bennett.
Recording information: 04/04/1951-07/16/1993.
Photographers: Don Hunstein; Lois Greenfield; Mark Seliger; Nigel Parry; Herman Leonard.
Arrangers: Don Costa; Johnny Mandel; Al Cohn; Marty Manning; Percy Faith; Ray Conniff; Frank DeVol.
Throughout his career, Tony Bennett has managed to be both a singer's singer and a first rate entertainer--not nearly as easy as it sounds. Though blessed with a beautiful natural timbre, Bennett doesn't settle for merely caressing our eardrums. A popular singer by definition, Bennett's style is informed by jazz phrasing and rhythm. And while mostly known for the heart he brings to his material, there is also ample evidence of nuanced thinking going into what comes out.
On this excellent collection that highlights his recordings for Columbia spanning five decades, Bennett's famous ardor and aesthetic honesty are omnipresent. The requisite chestnuts--"I Left My Heart in San Francisco," "Rags to Riches," "Boulevard of Broken Dreams"--are all here, as befits any ultimate Bennett collection, but we're also treated to the more intimate fare of Bennett with long-time associates the Ralph Sharon Trio on "Steppin' Out With My Baby," a very early take on "Blue Velvet," and a suave-meets-down-and-dirty "Mood Indigo."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 35 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Tony Bennett

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 23,309
  • UPC: 074646357026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Vocals genre:

Top ranking CD: