Simon & Garfunkel Old Friends (3-CD)

Old Friends (3-CD)
10 ratings
Price: $38.68
List Price: $42.98
You Save: $4.30 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  JEXA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: August 28, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 11/27/97, p.109
"...manages to have it both ways, providing a reminder of their impact and a fresh perspective on it, simultaneously. The concert performances are folksy and spare, highlighting Garfunkel's aching vocal harmonies and Simon's ambitious songwriting reach..."
Entertainment Weekly - 12/12/97, pp.84-86
"...OLD FRIENDS is the model of an efficient, enlightening box, its three discs alternating hits and album tracks (which have never sounded better, thanks to newly unearthed master tapes) with unreleased live cuts and a smattering of rarities..." - Rating: A

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Bleecker Street
  • 2.The Sound Of Silence
  • 3.The Sun Is Burning
  • 4.Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M.
  • 5.He Was My Brother
  • 6.Sparrow
  • 7.Peggy-O
  • 8.Benedictus
  • 9.Somewhere They Can't Find Me
  • 10.We've Got A Groovy Thing Goin'
  • 11.Leaves That Are Green
  • 12.Richard Cory
  • 13.I Am A Rock
  • 14.The Sound Of Silence (Single Version)
  • 15.Homeward Bound
  • 16.Blues Run The Game
  • 17.Kathy's Song
  • 18.April Come She Will
  • 19.Flowers Never Bend With The Rainfall

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Patterns
  • 2.Cloudy
  • 3.The Dangling Conversation
  • 4.Scarborough Fair / Canticle
  • 5.The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)
  • 6.For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her
  • 7.7 O'Clock News / Silent Night
  • 8.A Hazy Shade Of Winter
  • 9.At The Zoo
  • 10.A Poem On The Underground Wall
  • 11.Red Rubber Ball
  • 12.Blessed
  • 13.Anji
  • 14.A Church Is Burning
  • 15.Fakin' It
  • 16.Save The Life Of My Child
  • 17.America
  • 18.You Don't Know Where Your Interest Lies
  • 19.Punky's Dilemma
  • 20.Comfort And Joy
  • 21.Star Carol

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Mrs. Robinson
  • 2.Old Friends / Bookends
  • 3.Overs
  • 4.A Most Peculiar Man
  • 5.Bye, Bye Love
  • 6.The Boxer
  • 7.Baby Driver
  • 8.Why Don't You Write Me
  • 9.Feuilles-O
  • 10.Keep The Customer Satisfied
  • 11.So Long, Frank Lloyd Wright
  • 12.Song For The Asking
  • 13.Cecilia
  • 14.El Condor Pasa (If I Could)
  • 15.Bridge Over Troubled Water
  • 16.The Only Living Boy In New York
  • 17.Hey, Schoolgirl / Black Slacks
  • 18.That Silver Haired Daddy Of Mine
  • 19.My Little Town

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Paul Simon (vocals, guitar); Art Garfunkel (vocals).
Producers includes: Roy Halee, Tom Wilson, Bob Johnston, Paul Simon, John Simon.
Compilation producer: Bob Irwin.
Recorded between 1964 and 1975. Includes liner notes by David Fricke and Bob Irwin.
Digitally remastered by Vic Anesini.
Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel were initially inspired by the Everly Brothers and under the name Tom And Jerry enjoyed a hit with 'Hey Schoolgirl'. The duo reunited in 1964 for Wednesday Morning 3AM, which included an acoustic reading of 'The Sound Of Silence'. Producer Tom Wilson made the presumptuous but prescient decision to overdub 'Sound Of Silence' with electric instrumentation and an album titled after the million-selling single was rush-released early in 1966. Parsley, Sage, Rosemary And Thyme had a varied mood from the grandly serious 'For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her' to the bouncy '59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)'. The duo contributed Mrs. Robinson to the soundtrack of the 1968 film, The Graduate. That same year saw the release of Bookends, a superbly-crafted work. In 1969 the duo released the celebrated Bridge Over Troubled Water. One of the best-selling albums of all time, the work's title track became a standard with its lush, orchestral arrangement and contrasting tempo. While at the peak of their commercial success, the duo became irascible and their partnership abruptly ceased. Since then there have been sporadic reunions, most notably The Concert In Central Park.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Simon & Garfunkel

Product Info

  • UPC: 074646542927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.49/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)