Simon & Garfunkel The Columbia Studio Recordings (1964-1970) (5-CD) [Long Box]

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.7
34 ratings
List Price: $49.98
SALE PRICE: $44.98
You Save: $5 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (5 Discs)
Item:  CBS 63815

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: August 21, 2001
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 1/03, p.73
Ranked #5 in Mojo's "Best Box Sets & Compilations of 2002"

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.You Can Tell The World
  • 2.Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream
  • 3.Bleecker Street
  • 4.Sparrow
  • 5.Benedictus
  • 6.The Sound Of Silence
  • 7.He Was My Brother
  • 8.Peggy-O
  • 9.Go Tell It On The Mountain
  • 10.The Sun Is Burning
  • 11.The Times They Are A-Changin'
  • 12.Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M.
  • 13.Bleecker Street
  • 14.He Was My Brother
  • 15.The Sun Is Burning

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Sound Of Silence
  • 2.Leaves That Are Green
  • 3.Blessed
  • 4.Kathy's Song
  • 5.Somewhere They Can't Find Me
  • 6.Anji
  • 7.Richard Cory
  • 8.A Most Peculiar Man
  • 9.April Come She Will
  • 10.We've Got A Groovy Thing Goin'
  • 11.I Am A Rock
  • 12.Blues Run The Game
  • 13.Barbriallen
  • 14.Rose Of Aberdeen
  • 15.Roving Gambler

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Scarborough Fair / Canticle
  • 2.Patterns
  • 3.Cloudy
  • 4.Homeward Bound
  • 5.The Big Bright Green Pleasure Machine
  • 6.the 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)
  • 7.The Dangling Conversation
  • 8.Flowers Never Bend With The Rainfall
  • 9.A Simple Desultory Philippic (Or How I Was Robert McNamara'd Into
  • 10.For Emily, Wherever I May Find Her
  • 11.A Poem On The Underground Wall
  • 12.7 O'Clock News / Silent Night
  • 13.Patterns
  • 14.A Poem On The Underground Wall

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Bookends Theme
  • 2.Save The Life Of My Child
  • 3.America
  • 4.Overs
  • 5.Voices Of Old People
  • 6.Old Friends
  • 7.Bookends Theme
  • 8.Fakin' It
  • 9.Punky's Dilemma
  • 10.Mrs. Robinson
  • 11.A Hazy Shade Of Winter
  • 12.At The Zoo
  • 13.You Don't Know Where Your Interest Lies
  • 14.Old Friends

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Bridge Over Troubled Water
  • 2.El Condor Pasa (If I Could)
  • 3.Cecilia
  • 4.Keep The Customer Satisfied
  • 5.So Long, Frank Lloyd Wright
  • 6.The Boxer
  • 7.Baby Driver
  • 8.The Only Living Boy In New York
  • 9.Why Don't You Write Me
  • 10.Bye Bye Love
  • 11.Song For The Asking
  • 12.Feuilles-O
  • 13.Bridge Over Troubled Water

Product Description:

Contains all the original album covers for individual albums.
The 5-CD box THE COLUMBIA STUDIO RECORDINGS contains the albums WEDNESDAY MORNING 3 A.M. (1964); SOUNDS OF SILENCE (1966); PARSLEY, SAGE, ROSEMARY AND THYME (1966); BOOKENDS (1968); BRIDGE OVER TROUBLED WATER (1970) as well as rare and previously unreleased tracks, rare photos and individual album essays by Bud Scoppa.
Reissue producer: Bob Irwin.
Digitally remastered by Vic Anesini (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
Producer: Tom Wilson.
Recorded in March 1964. Originally released on Columbia (9049). Includes original liner notes by Art Garfunkel.
Producers: Bob Johnston, Tom Wilson, Simon & Garfunkel, Roy Halee.
Principally recorded in April & December 1965. Originally released on Columbia (9269).
Producer: Bob Johnston.
Recorded between December 1965 and August 1966. Originally released on Columbia (9363).
Producers: Simon & Garfunkel, Roy Halee.
Recorded between 1966 and 1968. Originally released on Columbia (9529).
Personnel includes: Paul Simon (vocals, guitar); Art Garfunkel (vocals); Fred Carter, Jr. (guitar); Larry Knechtel (keyboards); Joe Osborne (bass); Hal Blaine (drums).
Producers: Simon & Garfunkel, Roy Halee.
Principally recorded in November 1969. Originally released on Columbia (9914).
Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel were initially inspired by the Everly Brothers and under the name Tom And Jerry enjoyed a hit with 'Hey Schoolgirl'. The duo reunited in 1964 for Wednesday Morning 3AM, which included an acoustic reading of 'The Sound Of Silence'. Producer Tom Wilson made the presumptuous but prescient decision to overdub 'Sound Of Silence' with electric instrumentation and an album titled after the million-selling single was rush-released early in 1966. Parsley, Sage, Rosemary And Thyme had a varied mood from the grandly serious 'For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her' to the bouncy '59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)'. The duo contributed Mrs. Robinson to the soundtrack of the 1968 film, The Graduate. That same year saw the release of Bookends, a superbly-crafted work. In 1969 the duo released the celebrated Bridge Over Troubled Water. One of the best-selling albums of all time, the work's title track became a standard with its lush, orchestral arrangement and contrasting tempo. While at the peak of their commercial success, the duo became irascible and their partnership abruptly ceased. Since then there have been sporadic reunions, most notably The Concert In Central Park.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 34 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Simon & Garfunkel

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 27,635
  • UPC: 074646381526
  • Shipping Weight: 0.79/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

Top ranking CD: