Miles Davis Miles Davis Quintet, 1965-'68 (6-CD)

Miles Davis Quintet, 1965-'68 (6-CD)
12 ratings
Price: $62.98
List Price: $69.98
You Save: $7 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (6 Discs)
sku:  32F42
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Released: May 11, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - 6/98, p.131
10 (out of 10) - "...Marked by daring improvisations and telepathic interplay...the albums collected on THE COMPLETE COLUMBIA STUDIO RECORDINGS unite defenders and despoilers of jazz tradition in matrimonial bliss. If this comprehensive six-CD box set breaks the bank, the pearless original albums are individually waiting at the register..."
Entertainment Weekly - 3/27/98, pp.66-67
"...a six-CD, 7 1/2 hour summary of perhaps the greatest phase of a great career....It's only with 30 years' hindsight that we can grasp how radical he was....Here was music that worked on two levels: Beguiling to newcomers, it gave hardcore fans infinite opportunities to plumb its depths..." - Rating: A
Down Beat - 4/98, pp.56-57
4.5 stars (out of 5) - "...for anyone interested in Miles Davis, in Wayne Shorter, in jazz during this period or its impact on the present day, this box contains essential music..."
Vibe - 4/98, p.158
"...this remarkable box set shows that, in just three short years, Miles had again cornered the market on inventiveness, excellence, and genius."
Musician - 5/98, pp.85-86
"...a vital documentation of an important transition period in jazz, a lesson in how radically music can change in a short time, and a reminder that such change is necessary for music to stay alive....This is music that can travel anywhere, and frequently does..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Gingerbread Boy
  • 2.Footprints
  • 3.Limbo
  • 4.Limbo
  • 5.Vonetta
  • 6.Masqualero
  • 7.Masqualero
  • 8.Sorcerer
  • 9.Prince of Darkness
  • 10.Pee Wee
  • 11.Water Babies

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Nefertiti
  • 2.Capricorn
  • 3.Madness
  • 4.Hand Jive
  • 5.Hand Jive
  • 6.Hand Jive
  • 7.Madness
  • 8.Madness
  • 9.Sweet Pea
  • 10.Fall
  • 11.Pinocchio

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Pinocchio
  • 2.Riot
  • 3.Thisness
  • 4.Circle in the Round
  • 5.Water on the Pond
  • 6.Fun
  • 7.Teo's Bag
  • 8.Teo's Bag

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Paraphernalia
  • 2.I Have a Dream
  • 3.Speak Like a Child
  • 4.Sanctuary
  • 5.Side Car I
  • 6.Side Car II
  • 7.Country Son
  • 8.Country Son
  • 9.Black Comedy

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Black Comedy
  • 2.Stuff
  • 3.Petits Machins
  • 4.Tout de Suite
  • 5.Tout de Suite
  • 6.Filles de Kilimanjaro

Product Description:

THE COMPLETE COLUMBIA STUDIO RECORDINGS (1965-1968) includes every track from the albums E.S.P., MILES SMILES, SORCERER, NEFERTITI, MILES IN THE SKY as well as portions of WATER BABIES, CIRCLE IN THE ROUND, DIRECTIONS and FILLES DE KILIMANJARO that featured the quintet. This release includes a 116-page booklet enclosed in a scrapbook-like packager with an engraved metal binder.
Miles Davis Quintet: Miles Davis (trumpet, chimes); Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone); Herbie Hancock (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Wurlitzer piano, electric harpsichord, celeste); Ron Carter (acoustic & electric basses); Tony Williams (drums).
Additional personnel: George Benson, Joe Beck, Bucky Pizzarelli (guitar); Buster Williams (bass).
Producers: Irving Townsend, Howard A. Roberts, Teo Macero.
Reissue producers: Michael Cuscuna, Bob Belden.
Engineers include: Frank Laico, Fred Plaut, Stan Tonkel.
Recorded between January 20, 1965 and June 21, 1968. Includes liner notes by Michael Cuscuna, Todd Coolman and Bob Belden.
Digitally remastered by Mark Wilder and Rob Schwarz (Sony Music Studios, New York, New York).
THE COMPLETE COLUMBIA STUDIO RECORDINGS (1965-1968) won the 1999 Grammy Award for Best Album Notes and was nominated for Best Boxed Recording Package.
After hiring Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter and Tony Williams for the New York sessions of SEVEN STEPS TO HEAVEN, Miles Davis combed through a series of saxophonists until settling on Wayne Shorter to complete his second great quintet. From their first complete recording as a unit, E.S.P. (1965), to their last session for FILLES DE KILIMANJARO (1968), this group profoundly changed the face of modern jazz. This recorded history has been beautifully preserved and presented in this staggering collection, THE COMPLETE COLUMBIA STUDIO RECORDINGS 1965-68.
From the beginning it is evident that the music herein is of an unmatched quality and power. The genius of Hancock, the melodic invention of Shorter, the solidity of Carter's foundation and the thundering torrent of Williams all gels into a cohesive symphony of sound under the guiding hand of the Prince of Darkness, himself. The listener is able to trace the development of each member's compositional prowess and its effect on Davis' musical approach throughout the group's tenure. Each successive disc illustrates how the group explored uncharted musical territory with each session. Eventually, Davis would take his art in a new, more electric direction, thus ending this important period of jazz history.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Miles Davis

Product Info

  • UPC: 827969092521
  • Shipping Weight: 1.34/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 6 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)