Miles Davis Seven Steps: The Complete Columbia Recordings of Miles Davis 1963-1964 (7-CD)

Seven Steps: The Complete Columbia Recordings of
19 ratings
Price: $116.98
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (7 Discs)
sku:  32F3Q
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 7
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.159
4 stars out of 5 - "These seven CDs see him build on the pensive, spacious, elegant style he'd developed with players like John Coltrane and Bill Evans."
Magnet - p.134
"[The recording] provides insight into how the trumpeter brought his genre-transforming creativity to a boil."
The Wire - p.66
"These are almost entirely live recordings, and the contrast with the quintet with Coltrane is striking..."
Down Beat - p.83
4.5 stars out of 5 - "[The box set] documents trumpeter Davis' ongoing steps away from the studio, as he wrestled with time-tested standards, searched for ideas and tried on different players in the process."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.128
5 stars out of 5 - "After it, jazz was never the same again."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Joshua
  • Buy for $0.992.I Fall In Love Too Easily
  • Buy for $0.993.Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  • Buy for $0.994.So Near, So Far
  • 5.Basin Street Blues
  • Buy for $0.996.Seven Steps To Heaven (Take 3)
  • Buy for $0.997.Seven Steps To Heaven (Take 5)
  • Buy for $0.998.Summer Night

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Seven Steps To Heaven (Rehearsal Take)
  • Buy for $0.992.Seven Steps To Heaven
  • Buy for $0.993.So Near, So Far
  • Buy for $0.994.Joshua
  • Buy for $0.995.Introduction By Andre Francis
  • 6.Autumn Leaves
  • Buy for $0.997.Milestones
  • 8.I Thought About You

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Joshua
  • 2.All Of You
  • 3.Walkin'
  • 4.Bye Bye Blackbird
  • Buy for $0.995.Bye Bye (Theme)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • Buy for $0.991.Introduction By Mort Fega
  • 2.Autumn Leaves
  • Buy for $1.293.So What
  • 4.Stella By Starlight
  • Buy for $0.995.Walkin'
  • 6.All Of You
  • Buy for $0.997.Go-Go (Theme And Announcement)

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • Buy for $0.991.Introduction By Billy Taylor
  • Buy for $0.992.All Blues
  • 3.My Funny Valentine
  • Buy for $0.994.Joshua
  • 5.I Thought About You
  • Buy for $0.996.Four
  • Buy for $0.997.Seven Steps To Heaven
  • 8.There Is No Greater Love
  • Buy for $0.999.Go-Go (Theme And Re-Introduction)

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • Buy for $0.991.Introduction By Teruo Isono
  • 2.If I Were A Bell
  • 3.My Funny Valentine
  • Buy for $1.294.So What
  • Buy for $0.995.Walkin'
  • 6.All Of You
  • Buy for $0.997.Go-Go (Theme)

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • Buy for $0.991.Milestones
  • 2.Autumn Leaves
  • 3.So What
  • 4.Stella By Starlight
  • 5.Walkin'
  • Buy for $0.996.Go-Go (Theme)

Product Description:

Initial pressings of SEVEN STEPS are packaged with a deluxe metal spine.
Also includes a 92-page booklet with rare photos, complete discography and essays by Michael Cuscuna and Bob Blumenthal.
Personnel: Miles Davis (trumpet); Miles Davis; Ron Carter (double bass); Tony Ruption Williams , Tony Williams (drums); George Coleman, Sam Rivers, Wayne Shorter (tenor saxophone); Victor Feldman, Herbie Hancock (piano); Frank Butler (drums).
Audio Remixer: Mark Wilder.
Liner Note Authors: Michael Cuscuna; Bob Blumenthal.
Recording information: Berlin Philharmonic Hall, Berlin, Germany (04/16/1963-09/19/1964); Columbia 30th Street Studio, New York, NY (04/16/1963-09/19/1964); Columbia Studios, LA (04/16/1963-09/19/1964); Kohseinenkin Hall, Tokyo, Japan (04/16/1963-09/19/1964); Philharmonic Hall, New York, NY (04/16/1963-09/19/1964); The Festival Mondial Du Jazz Antibes, Juan-Les-Pins, Fr (04/16/1963-09/19/1964).
All tracks have been digitally mastered using 24-bit technology.
Introduction bys: Billy Taylor ; Andr‚ Francis; Terry Isono; Mort Fega.
Photographers: Vernon Smith; John Wilkes; Ted Williams ; Joe Alper; Jan Persson; Roger Marshutz; Lee Tanner; Chuck Stewart.
In the 1960s, trumpeter Miles Davis became a star outside of the jazz world, first with what history refers to as "the Quintet" with Wayne Shorter and Herbie Hancock, then with his highly influential post-BITCHES BREW electric bands. But there was a "transitional" period, after John Coltrane left Davis's employ and before the Shorter/Hancock era, which the SEVEN STEPS box set based around the SEVEN STEPS TO HEAVEN album documents in its entirety, often in a live context.
Davis was seeking the right combination of musicians for his sonic flights, where hard-bop and modal styles could be combined with a wide-open, increasingly elastic sound. Before settling on Shorter (present here), he tried the conventionally hearty, blues-accented bop approach of saxophonist George Coleman and the rippling, somewhat more avant-garde Sam Rivers. Both soar and sear at their respective best, providing remarkable contrast to Davis's magically cool horn. UK-born pianist Victor Feldman plays on some tracks, Hancock on others; the drum chair features Tony Williams (also an explorer of avant expression) and Frank Butler (a crackling, swinging mainstream bopper). SEVEN STEPS includes material originally available on the early-'60s albums IN EUROPE and FOUR & MORE, among others, with (attention, collectors!) the inclusion of eight previously unreleased tracks.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Miles Davis

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 125,600
  • UPC: 827969084021
  • Shipping Weight: 1.17/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 7 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)