Sonic Youth The Whitey Album

The Whitey Album
17 ratings
Price: $8.96
List Price: $9.95
You Save: $0.99 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32EWX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Geffen Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.122
4 stars out of 5 -- "WHITEY ALBUM is an excuse for some mesmeric forays into abstract dub/rock turbulence..."
The Wire - p.63
"[A]s zeitgeisty a record as Sonic Youth ever made. It's a response to the 80s celebrity machine; the emergent, technicolour possibilities of the sampler, to a New York music scene..."
Melody Maker - 5/4/96, p.58
"...contain[s] the plain groovy, avant-bubblegum, hip hop rock perversion of Madonna's 'Into The Groove'..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.121
3 stars out of 5 -- "The Youth were augmented on this entertaining and inventive mish-mash by J Mascis on guitar and bass player Mike Watt."


  • 1.Needle-Gun
  • 2.(Silence)
  • 3.G-Force
  • 4.Platoon II
  • 5.Macbeth
  • 6.Me & Jill / Hendrix Cosby
  • 7.Burnin' Up
  • 8.Hi! Everybody
  • 9.Children Of Satan / Third Fig
  • 10.Two Cool Rock Chicks Listening To Neu
  • 11.Addicted To Love
  • 12.Moby-Dik
  • 13.March Of The Ciccone Robots
  • 14.Making The Nature Scene
  • 15.Tuff Titty Rap
  • 16.Into The Groove(y)
  • 17.Macbeth (Alt. Mix)

Product Description:

Ciccone Youth: Thurston Moore, Kim Gordon, Lee Renaldo, Steve Shelley, Mike Watt.
Ciccone Youth: Bob Bert, J Mascis, Kim Gordon, Lee Ranaldo, Mike Watt , Steve Shelley, Thurston Moore.
Personnel: J Mascis (guitar).
Audio Remasterer: John Golden .
Liner Note Author: Mike Watt .
Recording information: Before Christ, Brooklyn, NY (03/1986-01/1988); San Pedro, CA (03/1986-01/1988); Wharton's Palace Of Confusion, New York, NY (03/1986-01/1988).
Unknown Contributor Role: Susanne Sasic.
Sonic Youth, puckishly self-dubbed with Madonna's surname and assisted by Mike Watt of FIREHOSE and J. Mascis of Dinosaur Jr., cover two of The Blonde One's hits ("Burnin' Up" and "Into the Groove(y)") on THE WHITEY ALBUM. They go on to salute Robert Palmer's "Addicted To Love," throw in a vicious hipster parody called "Two Cool Rock Chicks Listening To Neu!," and present Thurston Moore's near-incomprehensible "Tuff Titty Rap." The rest of these 16 songs (including one 60-second band of silence) consist of the atmospheric instrumental explorations, sonic jokes, and recitations that, by 1988, were beginning to feel out of place on the band's increasingly pop-oriented albums. While not a "proper" Sonic Youth release, THE WHITEY ALBUM embodies the band's experimental side like few of their later records do.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 17 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Sonic Youth

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498797921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)