The Allman Brothers Band Stand Back: The Anthology (2-CD)

Stand Back: The Anthology (2-CD)
27 ratings
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.72 Limited Time Only
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.26 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  35563
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

Lynyrd Skynyrd
  • Lynyrd Skynyrd All Time Greatest Hits (CD) $6.14
  • CD Details

    • Number of Discs: 2
    • Released:
    • Originally Released: 2004
    • Label: Hip-O Records

    Tracks on Disc 1:

    • Buy for $1.291.Don't Want You No More
    • Buy for $1.292.It's Not My Cross To Bear
    • Buy for $1.293.Trouble No More
    • Buy for $1.294.Dreams
    • Buy for $1.295.Whipping Post
    • Buy for $1.296.Revival
    • Buy for $1.297.Midnight Rider
    • Buy for $1.298.Hoochie Coochie Man
    • Buy for $1.299.Statesboro Blues
    • 10.In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed
    • Buy for $1.2911.One Way Out
    • Buy for $1.2912.Ain't Wastin' Time No More
    • Buy for $1.2913.Melissa
    • Buy for $1.2914.Stand Back
    • Buy for $1.2915.Blue Sky
    • Buy for $1.2916.Little Martha

    Tracks on Disc 2:

    • Buy for $1.291.Wasted Words
    • Buy for $1.292.Ramblin' Man
    • Buy for $1.293.Come And Go Blues
    • Buy for $1.294.Southbound
    • Buy for $1.295.Jessica
    • Buy for $1.296.Can't Lose What You Never Had
    • Buy for $1.297.Win, Lose Or Draw
    • Buy for $1.298.Crazy Love
    • Buy for $1.299.Just Ain't Easy
    • 10.Hell & High Water
    • 11.Never Knew How Much (I Needed You)
    • 12.Good Clean Fun
    • 13.Seven Turns
    • 14.End Of The Line
    • 15.No One To Run With
    • Buy for $0.9916.High Cost Of Low Living

    Product Description:

    Personnel: Dickey Betts (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar); Gregg Allman (vocals, electric guitar, piano, organ); Dan Toler (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Duane Allman, Warren Haynes (guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar); Les Dudek (guitar, acoustic guitar); Derek Trucks (guitar, slide guitar, acoustic slide guitar); Jim Essery (harmonica); Jimmy Hall (saxophone); Mike Lawler (piano, electric piano, synthesizer); Chuck Leavell, Johnny Cobb (piano, background vocals); Allen Woody (bass instrument, background vocals); David Goldflies, Lamar Williams, Oteil Burbridge, Berry Oakley (bass instrument); Jai Johanny Johanson (drums, timpani, percussion); Butch Trucks (drums, percussion); David "Frankie" Toler (drums); Marc Qui¤ones (congas, percussion); Thomas Caine, Bonnie Bramlett (background vocals).
    Audio Mixers: Michael Barbiero; Warren Haynes.
    Liner Note Author: Scott Schinder.
    Recording information: Ardent Recording, Memphis, TN (09/1969-04/2002); Atlantic Recording Studios, New York, NY (09/1969-04/2002); BR Ranch Studios, Jupiter, FL (09/1969-04/2002); Capricorn Sound Studios, Macon, GA (09/1969-04/2002); Criteria Studios, Miami, FL (09/1969-04/2002); Fillmore East, New York, NY (09/1969-04/2002); Pyramid Eye Recording Studio, Lookout Mountain, GA (09/1969-04/2002); The Record Plant, Los Angeles, CA (09/1969-04/2002); Water Music, Hoboken, NJ (09/1969-04/2002); Young'Un Sound, Nashville, TN (09/1969-04/2002).
    Photographers: Jeffrey Mayer; Twiggs Lyndon; Stephen Paley; Kirk West; Bob Gruen; Joe Sia; Bob Johnson.
    A beautifully packaged and sequenced two-disc set, STAND BACK is the definitive overview of one of the most successful and influential blues-rock acts ever. The Allman Brothers Band were superior musicians who incorporated elements of country, jazz, and R&B into their playing, and displayed a remarkable penchant for group improvisation. The synthesis of these factors, delivered with a distinctive country-fried edge, is laid out on this excellent 32-song career retrospective.
    Arranged chronologically, STAND BACK traces the evolution of the Allmans, from edge-pushing rockers (the first cut from the band's 1969 debut, "Don't Want You No More," with its shifting time signatures and jazz inflections, is almost progressive rock), to their country-rock of the '90s and 2000s. In between are fiery interpretations of blues classics by Blind Willie McTell and Muddy Waters, and songs by vocalist/keyboardist Gregg Allman and guitarist Dickey Betts, many of which ("Whipping Post," "Midnight Rider") are now blues-rock classics in their own right. With its driving, twin-drummer rhythm section, and complex organ/dual-guitar interplay, the band never misses a step on this superb collection.

    Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

    Customer Rating:
    Based on 27 ratings.
    Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

    Similar Products

    Music Categories:
    Get Email Alerts for The Allman Brothers Band

    Product Info

    • Sales Rank: 59,537
    • UPC: 731458676225
    • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
    • International Shipping: 2 items

    Top ranking CD:

    To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
    Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
    Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)