The Temptations Psychedelic Soul (2-CD)

Psychedelic Soul (2-CD)
11% OFF
Rating 5.0
1 rating
15 copies available
List Price: $9.95
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.84 Limited Time Only
You Save: $1.11 (11% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  35548
on most orders of $35
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Motown

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 9/4/03, p.147
4 stars out of 5 - "...The Temptations grabbed the psychedelic bull by the horns, making truly modern black-themed musical statements like no one save Sly and the Family Stone....A well-programmed double-disc compilation of psychedelic-funk essentials."
Mojo (Publisher) - 10/03, p.132
4 stars out of 5 - "...Engrossing....Awesome..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $1.291.Cloud Nine
  • Buy for $1.292.Runaway Child Running Wild
  • Buy for $0.993.Don't Let The Joneses Get You Down
  • Buy for $1.294.I Can't Get Next To You
  • Buy for $0.995.Message From A Black Man
  • Buy for $0.996.Slave
  • Buy for $1.297.Psychedelic Shack
  • Buy for $0.998.You Make Your Own Heaven And Hell Right Here On Earth
  • Buy for $0.999.Hum Along And Dance
  • Buy for $0.9910.Take A Stroll Thru Your Mind
  • Buy for $0.9911.War
  • Buy for $0.9912.Friendship Train
  • Buy for $1.2913.Ball Of Confusion (That's What The World Is Today)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Smiling Faces Sometimes Listen Listen
  • Buy for $0.992.Ungena Za Ulimengu (Unite The World) Listen Listen
  • Buy for $0.993.Love Can Be Anything (Can't Nothing Be Love But Love) Listen Listen
  • Buy for $1.294.Take A Look Around Listen Listen
  • Buy for $0.995.Superstar (Remember How You Got Where You Are) Listen Listen
  • Buy for $0.996.Funky Music Sho Nuff Turns Me On Listen Listen
  • 7.Papa Was A Rollin' Stone Listen Listen
  • Buy for $0.998.Plastic Man Listen Listen
  • 9.Masterpiece Listen Listen
  • Buy for $0.9910.Ain't No Justice Listen Listen
  • Buy for $0.9911.1990

Product Description:

The Temptations: Dennis Edwards, Otis Wilson, Richard Street, Eddie Kendricks, Damon Harris, Paul Williams, Melvin Franklin (vocals).
Additional personnel: Norman Whitfield (arranger); Dennis Coffey (guitar).
Producer: Norman Whitfield.
Compilation producer: Harry Weinger.
Recorded bewteen 1968 & 1973. Includes liner notes by Leonard Pitts, Jr.
This is part of Motown's "Funk Essentials" series.
Audio Mixer: Suha Gur.
Recording information: 10/1968-12/1973.
Things were changing on the musical landscape in the late 1960s, and the Temptations--stalwarts of Motown's golden age of matching suits, choreographed moves, and songs about innocent romance--were changing too. Though the group's Motown albums from this era are a mixed bag (their new progressive aesthetic was paired with songs hearkening back to the group's mid-'60s sound), Britain's Spectrum Records provides the invaluable service of compiling the best of the Tempts late-'60 and early-'70s "psychedelic soul" material on one set.
The spectacular, driving "Cloud Nine" kicks things off, and the 24-track, two-disc set doesn't let up from there. "Cloud Nine," like much of the group's music of this period, features a longer, open song structure with heavy percussive grooves, distorted, echoing guitars, and vocal call and response. Fans will no doubt recognize the churning "Ball of Confusion" and the amazingly atmospheric "Papa Was a Rollin' Stone," but fine lesser-known singles are here too, the driving, funky "I Can't Get Next to You" and 1973's "Masterpiece" among them. Producer/songwriter Norman Whitfield helped evolve the group's music, and this set is a showcase for his achievements, as well as for the group's stellar performances. This is an essential purchase for any fan of forward-looking funk and soul.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Temptations

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 29,645
  • UPC: 044003865327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm