Rags To Rufus

Rags To Rufus
18 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $10.71 Limited Time Only
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32FG8
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1990
  • Label: MCA


  • Buy for $1.291.You Got The Love
  • Buy for $0.992.I Got The Right Street (But The Wrong Direction)
  • Buy for $0.993.Walkin' In The Sun
  • Buy for $0.994.Rags To Rufus (Instrumental)
  • Buy for $0.995.Swing Down Chariot
  • Buy for $0.996.Sideways (Instrumental)
  • Buy for $0.997.Ain't Nothin' But A Maybe
  • Buy for $1.298.Tell Me Something Good
  • Buy for $0.999.Look Through My Eyes
  • Buy for $0.9910.In Love We Grow
  • Buy for $0.9911.Smokin' Room

Product Description:

Rufus: Chaka Khan (vocals); Al Ciner (acoustic & electric guitars, background vocals); Kevin Murphy (organ, Clavinet, background vocals); Ron Stockert (keyboards, background vocals); Dennie Belfield (bass, background vocals); Andre Fischer (drums, percussion, background vocals).
Originally released on ABC Records in 1974. Recorded at Quantam Studios, Torrance, California.
Personnel: Al Ciner (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, background vocals); Kevin Murphy (vocals, clarinet, Clavinet, organ, keyboards, background vocals); Ron Stockert (vocals, keyboards, background vocals); Andr‚ Fischer (vocals, drums, percussion, background vocals); Dennis Belfield, Chaka Khan (vocals, background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Don Sciarrotta.
Recording information: Quantum Studios, Torrance, CA.
Arrangers: Dennis Belfield; Ron Stockert; Al Ciner.
In the days before Chaka Khan achieved solo status as an R&B superstar, she was part of the funk collective Rufus. Even on this 1974 album, her distinctive vocal personality was so strong she merited a "featuring Chaka Khan" cover credit. But RAGS TO RUFUS is unquestionably a group effort. Al Ciner's chicken-scratch guitar, Kevin Murphy's burning clavinet, and Ron Stockert's colorful keyboards provide just the right funky framework for Khan's soulful ministrations. Hard-hitting, incisive funk dominates the album, but Khan nevertheless pauses for a successful mid-tempo Aretha simulation on "Walkin' in the Sun." On the title tune, the group displays its instrumental prowess, showcasing its facility for sophisticated horn arrangements, which complement virtuosic guitar and synthesizer work. The album's centerpiece is the Stevie Wonder-penned "Tell Me Something Good," a slow-burning, wah-wah clavinet-fueled song seasoned with sensuality and sarcasm in equal amounts. While Rufus proves capable of laying down hardcore funk grooves, it's the band's highly developed harmonic sensibility that sets them apart from their contemporaries.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Rufus

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 37,599
  • UPC: 076743136528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)