David Ruffin The Ultimate Collection

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
The Ultimate Collection
10% OFF
Rating 4.6
39 ratings
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  UNI 530959

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

Customers who purchased this item also bought these:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Motown


  • 1.My Whole World Ended (The Moment You Left Me)
  • 2.I've Lost Everything I've Ever Loved
  • 3.The Double Cross
  • 4.World Of Darkness
  • 5.Pieces Of A Man
  • 6.I'm So Glad I Fell For You
  • 7.I Miss You, Pt. 1
  • 8.Common Man
  • 9.A Little More Trust
  • 10.No Matter Where
  • 11.Walk Away From Love
  • 12.Heavy Love
  • 13.Statue Of A Fool
  • 14.Who I Am
  • 15.Everything's Coming Up Love
  • 16.On And Off
  • 17.Just Let Me Hold You For A Night
  • 18.You're My Peace Of Mind
  • 19.Rode By The Place (Where We Used To Stay)
  • 20.Let Somebody Love Me

Product Description:

Producers include: Harvey Fuqua, Johnny Bristol, Van McCoy, Berry Gordy, Ivy Jo Hunter.
Compilation producer: Henry Weinger.
Includes liner notes by David Ritz.
Digitally remastered using 24-bit technology by Kevin Reeves at PolyGram Studios, Edison, New Jersey.
Liner Note Author: David Ritz.
Arrangers: Paul Riser; Van McCoy; Wade Marcus; David Van De Pitte.
For David Ruffin, leaving the Temptations in the early 1970s to pursue a solo career was taking a gamble. Like Eddie Kendricks (who did the same thing), Ruffin was asked whether or not he was sure he wanted to leave such a successful group. But the soul singer had some fine moments as a solo artist, a fact that is illustrated by this CD. Released in 1998, The Ultimate Collection focuses on Ruffin's post-Temptations work in the 1970s. There's a lot to admire in this good- to excellent-anthology, which ranges from his hits "Walk Away from Love" and "My Whole World Ended (The Moment You Left Me)," to a pleasing cover of Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes' "I Miss You." The late soul man was a master of dramatic tearjerkers, and the emotional, heart-on-his-sleeve approach serves him quite well on "Pieces of a Man" (not to be confused with the Gil Scott-Heron song), "World of Darkness," and "No Matter Where." If you've never experienced the pleasures of Ruffin's solo years, The Ultimate Collection would be the most appropriate starting point. ~ Alex Henderson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 39 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for David Ruffin

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 3,838
  • UPC: 731453095922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.38/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre:

Top ranking CD: