Smokey Robinson & The Miracles Going to a Go-Go / Away We a Go-Go [Expanded]

Going to a Go-Go / Away We a Go-Go [Expanded]
10% OFF
Rating 4.9
16 ratings
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  MOT 17227

Products with a similar style:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Motown

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - 9/01, p.99
4 stars out of 5 - "...Every lyrical conceit is flawlessly followed through; Smokey's falsetto telling the truth about love as The Miracles' harmonies and multiple melodies fly with elegance and land firmly in the magic zone..."
Living Blues - 7-8/02, p.84
"...A well-paired CD...The 1st set boasted the throbbing title track and a bouncy FROM HEAD TO TOE, but its poetic ballads marked it as one of the group's best albums..."


  • 1.The Tracks Of My Tears
  • 2.Going To A Go-Go
  • 3.Ooo Baby Baby
  • 4.My Girl Has Gone
  • 5.In Case You Need Love
  • 6.Choosey Beggar
  • 7.Since You Won My Heart
  • 8.From Head To Toe
  • 9.All That's Good
  • 10.My Baby Changes Like The Weather
  • 11.Let Me Have Some
  • 12.A Fork In The Road
  • 13.Whole Lot Of Shakin' In My Heart (Since I Met You)
  • 14.You Don't Have To Say You Love Me
  • 15.(Come 'Round Here) I'm The One You Need
  • 16.Save Me
  • 17.Oh Be My Love
  • 18.Can You Love A Poor Baby
  • 19.Beauty Is Only Skin Deep
  • 20.I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself
  • 21.Baby Baby
  • 22.Walk On By
  • 23.Swept For You Baby
  • 24.More, More, More Of Your Love
  • 25.It's Fantastic (Stereo Mix)
  • 26.Goin' Out Of My Head
  • 27.A Fork In The Road (Live @ The Roostertail)

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: GOING TO A GO-GO (1965)/AWAY WE A GO-GO (1966).
Producers include: Smokey Robinson, Frank Wilson, Brian Holland, Mickey Gentile, Warren "Pete" Moore.
Compilation producer: Harry Weinger.
Includes liner notes by Adam White.
Digitally remastered by Kevin Reeves and Jeff Willens (Universal Mastering Studios-East).
Personnel: Marvin Tarplin (guitar).
Audio Mixer: Kevin Reeves.
Liner Note Author: Adam White.
Recording information: Roostertail's 'Motown Monday', Detroit, MI.
Photographer: Frank Dandridge.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Claudette; Bobby Rodgers; Ronald White .
This pairing of albums originally released in 1965 and 1966 shows what a subtly powerful force Smokey Robinson and the Miracles were. GOING TO A GO-GO opens with one of their biggest and most enduring numbers, "The Tracks of My Tears." As was the working method at Motown, other tracks on the album had their origins in assorted earlier or later sessions. But such was the cohesive identity of Robinson's songs and voice that, taken as a whole, it's a strikingly organic work. By turns soulful, funky, popish and doo-wop-influenced, it represents a time of enormous possibilities for Robinson, Motown and music in general.
AWAY WE GO-GO continues the wining streak with Robinson's songs being joined by Holland-Dozier-Holland and a few other writers, including a pair by Burt Bacharach and Hal David, both of which are a perfect fit. Previously unreleased bonus tracks include the sweeping panorama of "Goin' Out of My Head" and a live version of "A Fork in the Road," where studio precision amazingly springs to perfect life on the stage.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 16 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Smokey Robinson & The Miracles

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 16,955
  • UPC: 044001722721
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm, Saturday: 9am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)