Parliament Chocolate City [Bonus Tracks]

Chocolate City [Bonus Tracks]
18 ratings
Sale: $10.78
SUPER SAVINGS: $6.74 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $5.24 (44% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32FEY
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Island / Mercury


  • Buy for $1.291.Chocolate City
  • Buy for $0.992.Ride On
  • Buy for $0.993.Together
  • Buy for $0.994.Side Effects
  • Buy for $0.995.What Comes Funky
  • Buy for $0.996.Let Me Be
  • Buy for $0.997.If It Don't Fit (Don't Force It)
  • Buy for $0.998.I Misjudged You
  • Buy for $0.999.Big Footin'
  • Buy for $0.9910.If It Don't Fit (Don't Force It) (Alternate Mix) (Bonus Track)
  • Buy for $0.9911.I Misjudged You (Alternate Mix) (Bonus Track)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Common-Law Wife (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Parliament: William "Bootsy" Collins (vocals, guitar, bass); George Clinton (vocals); Cordell Mosson (guitar, bass); Gary Shider (guitar, background vocals); Bernie Worrell (keyboards, synthesizer); Perkash John (bass); Tiki Fulwood, Tyrone Lampkin (drums); Calvin Simon, Fuzzy Haskins, Grady Thomas, Raymond Davis, Eddie Hazel (background vocals).
Recorded at United Sound, Detroit, Michigan and Hollywood Sound, Hollywood, California.
Includes liner notes by Tom Terrell.
Personnel: Garry Shider (vocals, guitar); Eddie Hazel , Clarence "Fuzzy" Haskins, George Clinton , Grady Thomas, Raymond Davis, Calvin Simon (vocals); Cordell Mosson, Bootsy Collins (guitar); Bernie Worrell (keyboards, synthesizer); Man In The Box, Tyrone Lampkin (drums).
Liner Note Author: Tom Terrell.
Recording information: Hollywood Sound, Hollywood, CA; United Sound, Detroit, MI.
Released in 1975 (a year after UP FOR THE DOWN STROKE), this record finds ringleader George Clinton and his company beginning to refine the group's uber-groove aesthetic. The earlier eclecticism of DOWN STROKE and OSMIUM, as well as the acid-drenched, electric-guitar-based freakouts of Funkadelic (a separate Clinton-fronted group that features an essentially similar lineup), are less in evidence here. Instead, powerful, in-the-pocket drumming and Bootsy Collins' irresistibly funky bass move things to the dancefloor.
While not nearly up to par with the watershed MOTHERSHIP CONNECTION that would follow in the same year, CHOCOLATE CITY contains several fine tracks. Among these are the title piece, a laid-back jam with sterling horn improvisations and a tongue-in-cheek political rap from Clinton, and the overwhelmingly exuberant "Ride On." Though not mandatory, this disc is a worthy addition to the P-Funk library.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 18 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Parliament

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 53,053
  • UPC: 044007702727
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)