Parliament 12' Collection & More

12' Collection & More
10% OFF
Rating 4.4
10 ratings
List Price: $5.98
Your Price: $5.38
You Save: 60¢ (10% Off)
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  32FES
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Island / Mercury


  • Buy for $0.991.Aqau Boogie (A Psychoalphadiscobetabioaquadoloop): Original 12in Version
  • 2.Flash Light: Original 12in Version
  • Buy for $0.993.Agony Of Defeet: Original Promotion-Only 12in Version
  • Buy for $0.994.Ridin' High: Original Promotion-Only 12in Version
  • Buy for $0.995.Oh I: Original Parliament Version
  • Buy for $0.996.Up For The Down Stroke: Alternate Version
  • Buy for $0.997.Testify: Original Group Vocal Version
  • 8.Theme From The Black Hole / The Big Bang Theory: Original 12in Disco Edit

Product Description:

Producers: George Clinton, Ron Dunbar, Walter "Junie" Morrison.
Compilation producers: Harry Weinger, Donald Cleveland.
Recorded from 1974-1980. Includes liner notes by David Mills.
Digitally remastered by Suha Gur (Universal Music Studios).
This is part of Mercury's Funk Essentials series.
Liner Note Author: David Mills.
Don't mistake 12" Collection & More for a best-of collection. It features a few of Parliament's best moments, such as "Flashlight" and "Up for the Down Stroke," but it also includes songs such as "Ridin' High-Parlet" and "Oh I," which weren't technically even Parliament songs. This is more of a grab-bag collection; some of it is the group's best work, while some of it is here as filler. In terms of what's worth seeking out on this album, look towards the 12" versions of "Flashlight" and "Aqua Boogie." Also found on the Tear the Roof Off best-of, these extended versions approach the ten-minute mark, making them P-funk jams on par with "(Not Just) Knee Deep" -- jams that just don't stop, jams that you don't ever want to stop! The extended versions of "Agony of Defeet" and "Theme From the Black Hole/The Big Bang Theory" are also epic jams, but as some of the group's latter-day work, they're not prime material. Elsewhere, the string-laden seven-minute version of "Oh I" is amazing, even if it was actually a Funkadelic song, not a Parliament recording. The five-minute version of "Up for the Down Stroke" also ranks up there with some of Parliament's best work ever, adding about two minutes to the original version. Unfortunately, Parliament only released a handful of 12" mixes, and this album struggles to fill its length. Still, if you don't mind the filler here, it will be well worth your time to hear the extended mixes of "Flashlight," "Aqua Boogie," and "Oh I" in particular. Like "(Not Just) Knee Deep," these songs keep the funk flowing for epic lengths, long enough for you to totally succumb to the rhythm just as you would at one of the group's jam-laden concerts. ~ Jason Birchmeier

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Parliament

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 38,384
  • UPC: 731454610926
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)