Camel The Snow Goose [Deluxe Edition] [Bonus Tracks] (Live) (2-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.7
3 ratings
Only 7 copies left
List Price: $29.98
SALE PRICE: $25.73
You Save: $4.25 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  HPPO 5314614

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 6, 2009
  • Label: Ume Imports

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.80
5 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he band's magnum opus, with 16 conceptual pieces....Mainly instrumental, atmospheric sweetness and light follows."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Great Marsh
  • 2.Rhayader
  • 3.Rhayader Goes to Town
  • 4.Sanctuary
  • 5.Fritha
  • 6.The Snow Goose
  • 7.Friendship
  • 8.Migration
  • 9.Rhayader Alone
  • 10.Flight of the Snow Goose
  • 11.Preparation
  • 12.Dunkirk
  • 13.Epitaph
  • 14.Fritha Alone
  • 15.Princesse Perdue, La
  • 16.The Great Marsh
  • 17.Flight of the Snow Goose
  • 18.Rhayader
  • 19.Rhayader Goes to Town
  • 20.The Snow Goose / Freefall

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Rhayader Goes to Town
  • 2.Sanctuary
  • 3.The Snow Goose
  • 4.Migration
  • 5.Rhayader Alone
  • 6.Flight of the Snow Goose
  • 7.Preparation
  • 8.Dunkirk
  • 9.Epitaph
  • 10.Princesse Perdue, La
  • 11.The Great Marsh
  • 12.Selections from "The Snow Goose": The Snow Goose / Friendship / Rhayader Goes to Town

Product Description:

Personnel: Andy Latimer (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, flute); Peter Bardens (piano, electric piano, organ, mini-Moog synthesizer); Andy Ward & Deep Josh (vibraphone, drums, percussion).
Liner Note Author: Mark Powell.
Recording information: Decca Studios; Island Studios; The Marquee.
Unknown Contributor Role: Doug Ferguson .
Camel's classic period started with The Snow Goose, an instrumental concept album based on a novella by Paul Gallico. Although there are no lyrics on the album -- two songs feature wordless vocals -- the music follows the emotional arc of the novella's story, which is about a lonely man named Rhayader who helps nurse a wounded snow goose back to health with the help of a young girl called Fritha he recently befriended. Once the goose is healed, it is set free, but Fritha no longer visits the man because the goose is gone. Later, Rhayader is killed in battle during the evacuation of Dunkirk. The goose returned during the battle, and it is then named La Princesse Perdue, symbolizing the hopes that can still survive even during the evils of war. With such a complex fable to tell, it is no surprise that Camel keep their improvisational tendencies reined in, deciding to concentrate on surging, intricate soundscapes that telegraph the emotion of the piece without a single word. And even though The Snow Goose is an instrumental album, it is far more accessible than some of Camel's later work, since it relies on beautiful sonic textures instead of musical experimentation. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Camel

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 69,320
  • UPC: 600753146149
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD: