Four Tops Anthology: 50th Anniversary (2-CD)

Anthology: 50th Anniversary (2-CD)
47 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  32F6K
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: January 13, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Hip-O Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Baby I Need Your Loving
  • 2.Without The One You Love (Life's Not Worthwhile)
  • 3.Ask The Lonely
  • 4.I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)
  • 5.It's The Same Old Song
  • 6.Something About You
  • 7.Shake Me, Wake Me (When It's Over)
  • 8.Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever
  • 9.Reach Out I'll Be There
  • 10.Standing In The Shadows Of Love
  • 11.Bernadette
  • 12.I Got A Feeling
  • 13.7-Rooms Of Gloom
  • 14.I'll Turn To Stone
  • 15.You Keep Running Away
  • 16.Walk Away Renee (Alternate Mix)
  • 17.If I Were A Carpenter
  • 18.Yesterday's Dreams
  • 19.I'm In A Different World
  • 20.What Is A Man
  • 21.Don't Let Him Take Your Love From Me (Stereo Single Mix)
  • 22.It's All In The Game
  • 23.Still Water (Love)
  • 24.River Deep-Mountain High (Stereo Single Edit)
  • 25.Just Seven Numbers (Can Straighten Out My Life)
  • 26.In These Changing Times
  • 27.MacArthur Park (Part II)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.A Simple Game (U.K. Single Mix)
  • 2.I Can't Quit Your Love
  • 3.(It's The Way) Nature Planned It
  • 4.Keeper Of The Castle
  • 5.Ain't No Woman (Like The One I've Got)
  • 6.Are You Man Enough
  • 7.Sweet Understanding Love
  • 8.I Just Can't Get You Out Of My Mind
  • 9.One Chain Don't Make No Prison
  • 10.Midnight Flower
  • 11.Seven Lonely Nights
  • 12.We All Gotta Stick Together
  • 13.Catfish
  • 14.H.E.L.P.
  • 15.When She Was My Girl
  • 16.Tonight I'm Gonna Love You All Over
  • 17.I Believe In You And Me
  • 18.Back To School Again
  • 19.I Just Can't Walk Away
  • 20.Mean Green Mother From Outer Space
  • 21.Indestructible (7-Inch Extended Single)

Product Description:

The Four Tops: Renaldo "Obie" Benson, Abdul "Duke" Fakir, Lawrence Payton, Levi Stubbs (vocals).
Additional personnel: The Supremes, The Funk Brothers.
Producers include: Brian Holland, Lamont Dozier, William Stevenson, Ivy Jo Hunter, R. Dean Taylor.
Compilation producer: Harry Weinger.
Recorded between 1964 & 1988. Includes liner notes by Stu Hackel.
Not to be confused with the Four Tops compilation simply entitled Anthology (which only covers their Motown recordings), 50th Anniversary Anthology is a double-CD set spanning their first Motown hit in 1964 to the late '80s. Does it include all of the popular numbers that most fans want from a greatest-hits collection? Definitely. Is it as good as Anthology, or slimmer compilations that focus exclusively on their Motown hits from the 1960s and early '70s? No, because there's way too much dispensable post-mid-'70s stuff on disc two. Still, for those who want an anthology that includes non-Motown hits (particularly their early-'70s Dunhill singles) and are reluctant to splash out for the four-CD Fourever box set, this is the best available alternative. And unquestionably, the first two-thirds or so of this collection is excellent, including all the big Motown hits; plenty of good, less celebrated lower-charting Motown singles, like "I'll Turn to Stone" (the B-side of "7-Rooms of Gloom"); and their early Dunhill hits, in which they capably imitated Philly soul stars the O'Jays and the Spinners. But the group floundered as the '70s waned, and by the time of the ribald 1976 disco hit "Catfish," they were on the verge of not only losing their personality, but of embarrassing themselves. The proceedings don't stop there, unfortunately, tacking on a bunch of other small post-1976 hits ("When She Was My Girl" was the only big one), culminating in Levi Stubbs' gruesome contribution to the Little Shop of Horrors, "Mean Green Mother From Outer Space." It was a long way from "Baby I Need Your Loving," though luckily it's the classic stuff that dominates the program. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 47 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Four Tops

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 33,134
  • UPC: 044003961722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)