James Brown Love Power Peace: Live At The Olympia, Paris 1971

Rating 4.8
38 ratings
List Price: $5.98
You Save: 60¢ (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  UBG 13389
Amazon sells this CD for $7.36, buying at OLDIES.com saves you 27%
This is the price to buy directly from Amazon.com or its featured FBA seller. Prices change often, this price was last checked on October 15, 2014. Amazon is a registered trademark of Amazon.com, Inc.

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Polydor / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 4/30/93, p.55
"...If you really want to hear the JB's, here's the place--a previously unreleased live tape of Brown and band peeling the paint off the walls of a French arena....You'll want to take a breather after this one..." - Rating: A


  • Buy for $0.991.Intro
  • Buy for $0.992.Brother Rapp
  • Buy for $0.993.Aint It Funky Now
  • Buy for $0.994.Georgia On My Mind
  • Buy for $0.995.It's A New Day
  • Buy for $0.996.Bewildered
  • Buy for $0.997.Sex Machine
  • Buy for $0.998.Try Me
  • Buy for $0.999.Medley: Papa's Got A Brand New Bag / I Got You (I Feel Good)/I Got The Feelin'
  • Buy for $0.9910.Give It Up Or Turnit A Loose
  • Buy for $0.9911.It's A Man's Man's Man's World
  • Buy for $0.9912.Please Please Please
  • Buy for $0.9913.Sex Machine (Reprise)
  • Buy for $1.2914.Super Bad
  • Buy for $0.9915.Get Up, Get Into It, Get Involved
  • Buy for $0.9916.Soul Power
  • Buy for $0.9917.Get Up, Get Into It, Get Involved (Finale)

Product Description:

Full title: Love Power Peace: Live At The Olympia, Paris, 1971.
Personnel: James Brown (vocals, organ); Bobby Byrd (M.C., vocals, organ), Phelps "Catfish" Collins, Hearlon "Cheese" Martin (guitar); St. Clair Pinckney (tenor saxophone); Darryl "Hasaan" Jamison, Clayton "Chicken" Gunnells (trumpet); Fred Wesley (trombone); William "Bootsy" Collins (bass); John "Jabo" Starks, Don Juan "Tiger" Martin (drums).
Recorded live at The Olympia, Paris, France on March 8, 1971. Includes liner notes by Daddy Cool.
Recorded in 1971 at L'Olympia in Paris, France, LOVE POWER PEACE is the only live recording with the original JB's backing James Brown. The hardest working man in show business and his original band go full force with jams that capture the genuine sweat of the Godfather Of Soul shuffling across the stage in a gold lame fury, flanked by half- naked dancers. With original JB's such as MC/organist Bobby Byrd and bassist Bootsy Collins, you can hear the superior musicianship that is required to keep time with James Brown's frenetic pace. Drummers Jabo Starks and Tiger Martin would play both kits at once to get the groove on, making abrupt tempo changes, as in the transition between "Brother Rapp" and "Aint It Funky Now," illustrating both their talent and the tightness of their groove. Blasting through a number of Brown's greatest hits--"I Got You (I Feel Good)," "Papa's Got A Brand New Bag" and "Georgia On My Mind"--this release is a chunk of funk/soul history spotlighting Brown in his prime.
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 38 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for James Brown

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 31,395
  • UPC: 731451338922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.19/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

R&B: Funk Music Categories:

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre: