T. Rex Work In Progress (2-CD)

Work In Progress (2-CD)
4 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
SALE: $8.98
List Price: $24.98
You Save: $16 (64% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  ZHUS 73289
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Rhino

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Is It True
  • 2.Over the Flats
  • 3.Jet Tambourine
  • 4.Children of the World
  • 5.Did You Ever
  • 6.Alligator Man
  • 7.Shame on You
  • 8.Rollin' Stone
  • 9.Auto Machine
  • 10.Would I Be the One
  • 11.Meadows of the Sea
  • 12.Just Like Me
  • 13.Spaceball Boot
  • 14.Slider Blues
  • 15.I Wanna Go
  • 16.This Is My Life
  • 17.Big Black Cat
  • 18.Sure Enough
  • 19.I'm Coming to Rock 'N' Roll
  • 20.Pale Horse Riding
  • 21.Depth Charge
  • 22.King of the Mountain Cometh
  • 23.Dynamo
  • 24.Over You Babe
  • 25.Sad Man - Marc Bolan, Gloria Jones, T. Rex,
  • 26.Skateboard - Marc Bolan, Gloria Jones, T. Rex,
  • 27.20th Century Boy
  • 28.Everybody Needs Somebody
  • 29.Teenage Angel
  • 30.Auto Destruct
  • 31.Young Boy of Love
  • 32.21st Century Stance
  • 33.Classic Rap

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.All of My Love
  • 2.Down Home Lady
  • 3.Delanie (Everyday)
  • 4.Saturday Night
  • 5.Dance in the Midnight
  • 6.Plateau Skull
  • 7.Sky Church Music
  • 8.Metropolis Incarnate
  • 9.Bolan's Zip Gun
  • 10.Lock into Your Love
  • 11.Bust My Ball
  • 12.Savage Beethoven
  • 13.Sanctified
  • 14.(By the Light of The) Magical Moon
  • 15.Brain Police
  • 16.Funky London Childhood
  • 17.Reelin' & A Wheelin' & A Boppin' & A Bolan
  • 18.Christmas Bop
  • 19.Love Drunk
  • 20.20th Century Baby
  • 21.Hot George
  • 22.Write Me a Song

Product Description:

Recorded between 1972 & 1977. Includes liner notes by Martin Barden.
Marc Bolan & T. Rex: Marc Bolan (vocals, guitar); Gloria Jones (vocals).
Marc Bolan recorded a lot -- so much, it seems, that he documented every time he picked up a guitar, whether it was at home or in the studio. Over the years, much of this has come out, most notably in the T. Rex Unchained series, which spans a mind-boggling 16 volumes (and this doesn't even include the rarities and outtakes that appeared on expanded versions of the proper albums). Unchained is a hardcore fan's delight, but it is nearly impossible to navigate for anybody who doesn't have prior knowledge of Bolan minutia, or who doesn't have the time and patience to sort it all out. That's where this double-disc, Work in Progress, comes in -- it distills the series to 55 highlights, offering a disc of recordings Bolan made at home, and a disc that he recorded in the studio with T. Rex. This is still quite lengthy, but the difference is that it's sharply chosen and sequenced, so it's as enjoyable as a regular T. Rex collection, albeit one with varying quality of fidelity and performances. There are no lost classics on either disc, and sometimes the tracks don't amount to more than a sketch of an idea, but it's all charming and tuneful; Bolan would throw away hooks other bands would kill to have, and it all sounds effortless, which, given the number of Bolan's unreleased recordings, it probably was. For those who want to dig a little deeper than the albums but don't have the bottle to slog through all the Unchained discs -- or for those who want a collection of highlights from that archival series -- Work in Progress delivers in spades. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for T. Rex

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 43,710
  • UPC: 081227328924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking titles in the Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs series:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)