Nina Simone Very Best of Nina Simone 1967-1977 (2-CD)

Very Best of Nina Simone 1967-1977 (2-CD)
30 ratings
Price: $26.98
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  357V3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: RCA

Entertainment Reviews:

Vibe - 12/99, p.164
Included in Vibe's 100 Essential Albums of the 20th Century - "A fierce interpretive singer, arranger, pianist, Simone sings virtually every genre of song...with a bluesy, self-assured artistry that soothes and intimidates in equal measure..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.My Man's Gone Now
  • Buy for $0.992.Since I Fell For You
  • Buy for $0.993.I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl
  • Buy for $0.994.Do I Move You (Version II)
  • Buy for $0.995.Blues For Mama
  • Buy for $0.996.Backlash Blues
  • Buy for $0.997.In The Dark
  • Buy for $0.998.Consummation
  • Buy for $0.999.Go To Hell
  • Buy for $0.9910.I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free
  • Buy for $0.9911.Turning Point
  • Buy for $0.9912.Turn Me On
  • Buy for $0.9913.The Look Of Love
  • Buy for $0.9914.To Love Somebody
  • Buy for $0.9915.I Can't See Nobody
  • Buy for $0.9916.In The Morning
  • Buy for $0.9917.Do What You Gotta Do
  • Buy for $0.9918.Ain't Got No / I Got Life
  • Buy for $0.9919.Please Read Me
  • Buy for $0.9920.Martin Luther King Suite: Sunday In Savannah
  • Buy for $0.9921.Martin Luther King Suite: Why (The King Of Love Is Dead)
  • Buy for $0.9922.Martin Luther King Suite: Mississippi Goddam

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.I Think It's Going To Rain Today
  • Buy for $0.992.I Get Along Without You Very Well (Except Sometimes)
  • Buy for $0.993.Nobody's Fault But Mine
  • Buy for $0.994.Another Spring
  • Buy for $0.995.Compassion
  • Buy for $0.996.Seems I'm Never Tired Lovin' You
  • Buy for $0.997.I Shall Be Released
  • Buy for $0.998.To Be Young, Gifted And Black
  • Buy for $0.999.Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues
  • Buy for $0.9910.Suzanne (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9911.My Father / Dialog (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9912.Jelly Roll (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9913.Tell It Like It Is (Previously Unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9914.Mr. Bojangles
  • Buy for $0.9915.Here Comes The Sun
  • Buy for $0.9916.Ooh Child
  • Buy for $0.9917.Poppies
  • Buy for $0.9918.22nd Century (Previously Unreleased)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Nina Simone (vocals, conductor); Sammy Lowe, Jimmy Wisner, Horace Ott, Weldon Irvine, Harold Wheeler (conductor).
Producers: Danny Davis, Joe Rene, Stroud Productions And Enterprises, Inc., C.F.N.S.
Compilation producer: Paul Williams.
Recorded between 1967 and 1972. Includes liner notes by David Nathan.
Nina Simone's five-year tenure at RCA Records found her deviating only slightly from the traditions established at her previous corporate home, Philips Records. The political content is slightly reduced, and there are a few more covers of pop songs, including four Bee Gees tunes (highlighted by a surprisingly effective solo take on the relatively obscure "Please Read Me") and Randy Newman's oft-covered "I Think It's Going To Rain Today." Simone never sold out, though: in one of the four previously unreleased tracks, Simone breaks off a version of Judy Collins' "My Father" after a single verse, calmly telling her producer that she's not going to sing the song because she feels no connection with the sentimental lyrics. This two-disc collection is considerably less complete than the four-disc box set of Simone's Philips work, FOUR WOMEN, but in focusing on Simone's vocal power and subtle interpretive skills, it makes an effective argument for the somewhat contrarian view that her RCA years were equal, if not superior, to her earlier work.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 30 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Nina Simone

Product Info

  • UPC: 078636763521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)