Elvis Presley Elvis Close Up (4-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 3.9
19 ratings
List Price: $49.98
SALE PRICE: $44.98
You Save: $5 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (4 Discs)
Item:  RCA 50537

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: July 1, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: BMG / Elvis

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.(There'll Be) Peace In The Valley (For Me)
  • 2.I Beg Of You
  • 3.That's When Your Heartaches Begin
  • 4.It's No Secret
  • 5.Blueberry Hill
  • 6.Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
  • 7.Is It So Strange
  • 8.Loving You (Fast Version - Take 5)
  • 9.Loving You (Fast Version - Take 15)
  • 10.Jailhouse Rock
  • 11.Treat Me Nice (First Movie Version)
  • 12.Young And Beautiful (Record Master)
  • 13.Young And Beautiful (Solo Master)
  • 14.Young And Beautiful (Nightclub Master)
  • 15.I Want To Be Free (Movie Version)
  • 16.I Want To Be Free (Record Master)
  • 17.Treat Me Nice (Second Movie Version)
  • 18.Don't Leave Me Now (Elvis Piano Version)
  • 19.Don't Leave Me Now (Movie Version)
  • 20.(You're So Square) Baby I Don't Care

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.G.I. Blues
  • 2.Doin' The Best I Can
  • 3.Wooden Heart
  • 4.Pocketful Of Rainbows
  • 5.Shoppin' Around
  • 6.Frankfort Special
  • 7.Big Boots (Fast Version)
  • 8.Tonight's All Right For Love
  • 9.Summer Kisses, Winter Tears
  • 10.Flaming Star
  • 11.Lonely Man (Solo Version)
  • 12.In My Way
  • 13.Forget Me Never
  • 14.Wild In The Country
  • 15.Lonely Man
  • 16.I Slipped, I Stumbled, I Fell
  • 17.Aloha Oe
  • 18.Hawaiian Sunset
  • 19.Ku-U-I-Po
  • 20.No More
  • 21.Slicin' Sand
  • 22.Steppin' Out Of Line
  • 23.Almost Always True
  • 24.Moonlight Swim
  • 25.Can't Help Falling In Love

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Make Me Know It
  • 2.Soldier Boy
  • 3.It Feels So Right
  • 4.The Girl Of My Best Friend
  • 5.Surrender
  • 6.Working On The Building
  • 7.Starting Today
  • 8.Kiss Me Quick
  • 9.That's Someone You Never Forget
  • 10.(Marie's The Name) His Latest Flame
  • 11.I Met Her Today
  • 12.Night Rider
  • 13.Just Tell Her Jim Said Hello
  • 14.Echoes Of Love
  • 15.Ask Me
  • 16.Stand By Me
  • 17.Somebody Bigger Than You And I
  • 18.Without Him
  • 19.Mine
  • 20.Singing Tree
  • 21.U.S. Male

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Also Sprach Zarathustra
  • 2.See See Rider
  • 3.Proud Mary
  • 4.Never Been To Spain
  • 5.You Gave Me A Mountain
  • 6.Until It's Time For You To Go
  • 7.Polk Salad Annie
  • 8.Love Me
  • 9.All Shook Up
  • 10.(Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear / Don't Be Cruel
  • 11.Heartbreak Hotel
  • 12.Hound Dog
  • 13.How Great Thou Art
  • 14.I Can't Stop Loving You
  • 15.Love Me Tender
  • 16.Suspicious Minds
  • 17.Introductions
  • 18.For the Good Times
  • 19.Burning Love
  • 20.An American Trilogy
  • 21.Funny How Time Slips Away
  • 22.Can't Help Falling In Love
  • 23.Closing Vamp

Product Description:

ELVIS PRESLEY: CLOSE UP includes a 48 page booklet with an essay by Colin Escott, photos and detailed track information. All selections previously unreleased.
Compilation producers: Ernst Mikael Jorgensen, Roger Semon.
Recorded between 1957 & 1972. Includes liner notes by Colin Scott.
Personnel: Elvis Presley (guitar, piano); Chip Young, John Wilkinson, Grady Martin, Hank Garland, Harold Bradley, Howard Roberts , James Burton, Jerry Kennedy, Jerry Reed, Scotty Moore, Neal Matthews, Tiny Timbrell, Charlie Hodge (guitar); Alvino Rey, Pete Drake (steel guitar); Bernie Lewis, Fred T. Tavares (ukulele); George Fields (harmonica); Jimmie Haskell (accordion); Boots Randolph (saxophone, vibraphone, shaker); Dudley Brooks (piano, celesta); Floyd Cramer, David Briggs , Henry Slaughter (piano, organ); Glen D. Hardin, Mike Stoller, Gordon Stoker (piano); Frank Bode, D.J. Fontana, Bernie Mattinson, Hal Blaine, Ron Tutt, Buddy Harman (drums); Hoyt Hawkins (tambourine).
Audio Mixer: Dennis Ferrante.
Liner Note Author: Colin Escott.
Recording information: Convention Center, San Antonio, TX (04/18/1972); Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (04/18/1972); RCA Studios, Hollywood, CA (04/18/1972).
Elvis: Close Up is part of an ongoing series of Elvis Presley box sets BMG has created to keep collectors supplied with "new" material, in a manner of speaking. All 89 of the recordings are previously unreleased mixes and alternate takes, with each disc focusing on a different period of Elvis' career. The first disc contains stereo mixes of recordings from 1957, including "Jailhouse Rock" and "I Beg of You." These mixes, created from the binaural session tapes, will be worth the price for many stereophiles. The second disc has alternate takes of songs from four of Elvis' early-'60s movie soundtracks, with all of the recordings hailing from 1960 and 1961. Disc three is titled "The Magic of Nashville" and features Nashville recordings mainly from the early '60s, but not Elvis Country fare; with the exception of Jerry Reed's "U.S. Male," the songs are pop, rock and gospel tunes that include alternates of the hits "(Marie's the Name) His Latest Flame" and "Kiss Me Quick." The fourth disc presents a live show from San Antonio, TX, recorded on April 18, 1972, which was the final show of the tour documented in Elvis on Tour. Apart from the stereo mixes, there aren't many revelations, but those who never tire of alternate takes will get exactly what they expect. The import-only Follow That Dream label goes into even greater depth for collectors with an inexhaustible passion for all things Elvis, but Elvis: Close Up has the added advantage of being readily available and often at very reasonable prices. ~ Greg Adams

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.9
Based on 19 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Elvis Presley

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 30,737
  • UPC: 828765053723
  • Shipping Weight: 0.99/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

Top ranking CD: