Elvis Presley Artist of The Century (3-CD)

Artist of The Century (3-CD)
33 ratings
11 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $44.74 Limited Time Only
List Price: $49.98
You Save: $5.24 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  32G48
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: BMG / Elvis

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 12/99, p.166
5 stars out of 5 - "...this is true greatness in the Churchillian sense: swaggering, daring, proud yet humble, beaten but never truly down, magnificent when victorious and always unforgettable."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.That's All Right
  • 2.Good Rockin' Tonight
  • 3.Baby Let's Play House
  • 4.Mystery Train
  • 5.Trying To Get To You
  • 6.Heartbreak Hotel
  • 7.Blue Suede Shoes
  • 8.My Baby Left Me
  • 9.Lawdy, Miss Clawdy
  • 10.Hound Dog
  • 11.Any Way You Want Me (That's How I Will Be)
  • 12.Don't Be Cruel
  • 13.Love Me Tender
  • 14.Love Me
  • 15.Anyplace Is Paradise
  • 16.All Shook Up
  • 17.Got A Lot O' Livin' To Do!
  • 18.(Let Me Be Your) Teddy Bear
  • 19.One Night
  • 20.Jailhouse Rock
  • 21.(You're So Square) Baby I Don't Care
  • 22.Treat Me Nice
  • 23.Don't
  • 24.Santa Claus Is Back In Town
  • 25.Trouble
  • 26.Hard Headed Woman
  • 27.Wear My Ring Around Your Neck
  • 28.A Big Hunk O' Love
  • 29.(Now And Then There's) A Fool Such As I

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Stuck On You
  • 2.It's Now Or Never
  • 3.Are You Lonesome Tonight
  • 4.A Mess Of Blues
  • 5.Like A Baby
  • 6.The Girl Of My Best Friend
  • 7.Such A Night
  • 8.Reconsider Baby
  • 9.Surrender
  • 10.Can't Help Falling In Love
  • 11.That's Someone You Never Forget
  • 12.Little Sister
  • 13.(Marie's The Name) His Latest Flame
  • 14.Anything That's Part Of You
  • 15.Good Luck Charm
  • 16.She's Not You
  • 17.Return To Sender
  • 18.(You're The) Devil In Disguise
  • 19.Memphis Tennessee
  • 20.It Hurts Me
  • 21.Down In The Alley
  • 22.Run On
  • 23.Tomorrow Is A Long Time
  • 24.Big Boss Man
  • 25.Guitar Man
  • 26.Tiger Man

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.If I Can Dream
  • 2.In The Ghetto
  • 3.Suspicious Minds
  • 4.Don't Cry Daddy
  • 5.I'll Hold You In My Heart
  • 6.Stranger In My Own Home Town
  • 7.After Loving You
  • 8.Only The Strong Survive
  • 9.The Wonder Of You
  • 10.Polk Salad Annie
  • 11.I've Lost You
  • 12.You Don't Have To Say You Love Me
  • 13.I Just Can't Help Believin'
  • 14.Merry Christmas Baby
  • 15.I'm Leavin'
  • 16.An American Trilogy
  • 17.Burning Love
  • 18.Always On My Mind
  • 19.Promised Land
  • 20.For The Heart

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Elvis Presley (vocals, guitar); The Jordanaires, The Sweet Inspirations (vocals); Scotty Moore, James Burton (guitar); Boots Randolph (saxophone); Floyd Cramer, Shorty Long (piano); Bill Black (bass); D.J. Fontana (drums); The Memphis Horns.
Producers include: Sam Phillips, Felton Jarvis, Chips Moman.
Compilation producers: Ernst Mikael Jorgensen, Roger Sermon.
Engineers include: Sam Phillips, Bob Ferris, Ernie Oehlrich.
Recorded between 1954 and 1976. Includes liner notes by Colin Escott.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Elvis Presley (acoustic guitar); Susan Pilkington, Dolores Edgin, Temple Riser, Sonja Montgomery, Donna Thatcher, Charles Prescott, Mary Greene, J.D. Sumner & the Stamps, Mary Holiaday, Rad Robinson, Jon Dodson, Kathy Westmoreland, Sandy Posey, The Blossoms , The Jordanaires, The Sweet Inspirations, Millie Kirkham, Joe Babcock, Charlie McCoy (vocals); Vito Mumolo, Eddie Hinton, Alan Fortas, John Wilkinson, Grady Martin, Mike Deasy Sr. , Hank Garland, Harold Bradley, Neil Matthews, Al Casey , James Burton, Jerry Kennedy, Jerry Reed, Reggie Young , Tommy Tedesco , Barney Kessel, Charlie Hodge (guitar); Chet Atkins, Tiny Timbrell (acoustic guitar); Scotty Moore (electric guitar); Alvino Rey, Pete Drake (steel guitar); Chip Young (dobro); Bernie Lewis (ukulele); Bobby G. Taylor (oboe); Rufus Long, Boots Randolph (saxophone); Ray Siegel (tuba); Don Randi, Dudley Brooks, Floyd Cramer, Glen D. Hardin, David Briggs , Henry Slaughter, Shorty Long, Gordon Stoker, Bobby Wood (piano); Per-Erik Hallin, Larry Knechtel, Bobby Emmons, Charles McCoy (organ); Shane Keister (Moog synthesizer); D.J. Fontana, Bernie Mattison, Gene Chrisman, Johnny Bernero, Ron Tutt, Jerry Carrigan, Bob Lanning, Buddy Harman (drums); Lance Legault (tambourine); Hal Blaine, John Cyr (percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Chet Atkins; Chuck Berry; Cliff Richard; Colin Escott; Elvis Presley; James Dean Brown ; Greil Marcus; Frank Sinatra; George H.W. Bush; Colonel Tom Parker; Janis Joplin; Joe Cocker; John Lennon; Leonard Bernstein; Little Richard; Mark Knopfler; P.J. Proby; Paul McCartney; Paul Simon; Rod Stewart; Scotty Moore; Arthur Godfrey; Jim Morrison ; Bill Wyman; Bob Dylan; Bob Hope; Bruce Springsteen; Buddy Holly.
Unknown Contributor Role: Steve Sholes.
Arranger: Elvis Presley.
Whatever one thinks of the title--Elvis Presley was indeed one of the artists who had an undeniable impact on the popular music of the 20th century--this 3-CD collection offers enough proof to support the claim. It's all here: his groundbreaking rockabilly sessions that influenced the Beatles, Creedence Clearwater Revival, and hundreds of others; all the hits from the '50s ("Jailhouse Rock," where the swagger and insolence in Elvis' voice still packs a wallop), to those from the '60s ("Stuck on You") and the '70s (a burning version of Chuck Berry's "Promised Land").
Pop ballads, blues, country, soul/R&B, rockers--virtually every song here is a gem. "I'll Hold You in My Heart," Bob Dylan's "Tomorrow Is a Long Time," and the wailing Holiday-blues "Santa Claus Is Back in Town" feature Elvis bearing his heart and soul, singing magnificently with barely restrained passion, in a style descended from the finest blues and R&B singers. This package also features well-written, detailed liner notes, along with quotes from fellow icons that serve as testimonials to Elvis' impact (the quoted include Richard Nixon, James Brown, John Lennon and Janis Joplin). If you must own only one Elvis Presley album, ARTIST OF THE CENTURY is the one.
Elvis Presley

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 33 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Elvis Presley

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 68,095
  • UPC: 078636773223
  • Shipping Weight: 0.57/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)