Nazz Open Our Eyes: The Anthology (2-CD)

Open Our Eyes: The Anthology (2-CD)
10 ratings
Price: $17.98
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  37SK3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Sanctuary Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 3/20/03, pp.68-69
4 stars out of 5 - "...This is the total, official Nazz--and a total gas..."
Uncut - 2/03, pp.90-1
4 stars out of 5 - "...Rundgren's accomplices were kindred spirits along the high-energy highway....This lovingly packaged set still whets the appetite for his slew of '70s masterpieces..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 2/03, p.103
"...Worthy of positive reevaluation..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Loosen Up
  • 2.Open My Eyes
  • 3.Hello It's Me
  • 4.Crowded
  • 5.If That's The Way You Feel
  • 6.See What You Can Be
  • 7.When I Get My Plane
  • 8.Lemming Song
  • 9.Wildwood Blues
  • 10.Back Of Your Mind
  • 11.She's Going Down
  • 12.Train Kept A-Rollin'
  • 13.Kiddie Boy
  • 14.Featherbedding Lover
  • 15.How Can You Call That Beautiful
  • 16.Kicks
  • 17.Magic Me
  • 18.Christopher Columbus
  • 19.Under The Ice

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Forget All About It
  • 2.Meridian Leeward
  • 3.Hang On Paul
  • 4.Rain Rider
  • 5.Not Wrong Long
  • 6.Letters Don't Count
  • 7.Only One Winner
  • 8.Gonna Cry Today
  • 9.Beautiful Song
  • 10.Some People
  • 11.It's Not That Easy
  • 12.Resolution
  • 13.Plenty Of Lovin'
  • 14.Old Time Lovemaking
  • 15.Take The Hand
  • 16.You Are My Window

Product Description:

Nazz includes: Todd Rundgren, Carsten Van Osten.
Compilation producers: Antony Amos, Steve Hammonds.
Recorded between 1968 & 1984. Includes liner notes by Kieron Tyler.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
An anthology is usually understood to be a selection of material, but Sanctuary's compilation of recordings by the Nazz, Open Our Eyes: The Anthology, actually collects all of the band's legitimately released tracks on two CDs with a running time of over two hours and ten minutes. That's the 34 songs that made up the albums Nazz, Nazz Nazz, and Nazz III, plus an outtake cover of "Train Kept a Rollin'" first released on the 1985 LP Best of the Nazz and making its CD debut here. But if compiler Kieron Tyler exercises no judgment about what to include, he does take it upon himself to provide a new sequence rather than just running one album after another in the order they were released originally in 1968-1970. There is some justification for this. Nazz Nazz was first intended to be a double album but truncated into a single one, with the extra material being released as Nazz III 20 months later. So, Tyler, after extracting the novelty song "Loosen Up" (a parody of the Archie Bell & the Drells hit "Tighten Up") from Nazz III to lead off the compilation, takes a shot, in the last seven tracks of the first disc and all of the second disc, at assembling a version of that never-released double album. This does not explain, however, why he also finds it necessary to re-sequence the ten songs from the first album. The new sequencing is not an improvement on the old, and for Nazz fans accustomed to the running order of the old LPs after 30 years, it will sound odd. But in whatever order, the package contains all of the group's recordings on one album. Tyler's liner notes, detailing the band's history with the help of Todd Rundgren, are excellent and contain new information. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.1
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Nazz

Product Info

  • UPC: 060768458628
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)