Hugh Masekela Live At The Market Theatre (2-CD)

Rating 5.0
6 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown

Save for Later
Format: CD  (2 Discs)
Item:  FRQE 1805
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 17, 2007
  • Label: Four Quarters Ent

Entertainment Reviews:

JazzTimes - p.74
"Masekela, staying with flugelhorn, is brawny, bright and imposing..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Ibala Lam
  • 2.The Boy's Doin' It
  • 3.Ashiko
  • 4.Ha le Se
  • 5.Stimela
  • 6.Lady
  • 7.Grazing in the Grass
  • 8.Mandela

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Thuma Mina
  • 2.Up Township
  • 3.Happy Mama
  • 4.District Six
  • 5.Market Place
  • 6.Khauleza
  • 7.Thanayi

Product Description:

Personnel: Hugh Masekela (vocals, flugelhorn); Hugh Masekela; Dr. John Kani (spoken vocals); Ezbie Moilwa (keyboards, background vocals); Ezbie Moilwa (background vocals); John Selolwane (guitar, background vocals); Khaya Mahlangu (flute, tenor saxophone, background vocals); Arthur Tshabalala (keyboards, background vocals); Fana Zulu (bass guitar); Sello Montwedi (drums); Francis Fuster (percussion, background vocals).
Recording information: The Market Theatre.
Editor: Julian Thomas.
This two-and-a-half-hour concert recording serves both to sum up the career of its performer, now that he is north of 65 years old, and also to demonstrate that he is still working at his peak. Hugh Masekela's voice is more gravelly than in the past, but his flugelhorn playing is as good as ever, and his abilities as a bandleader are apparent. Even more, his stature as a musical statesman is on display. He first makes reference to his political views in a lengthy, and clearly rehearsed, introduction to "Stimela," which he dedicates to "all those people who lose their lives working in cheap labor. If there's any here tonight," he adds, "we are with you." Unfortunately, the crowd laughs at the suggestion that any of them might be underpaid, and Masekela scolds them, "It's not a joke." Later, during another long introduction to "Mandela," he seems to realize that his lectures may be dampening the celebratory mood and proclaims, "I'm not running for office!" Clearly, it's a tricky thing mixing the dance music he often plays with the somber sentiments he inevitably brings with him from a life of expatriation and the ultimately successful effort to overcome apartheid. But on tracks that average ten minutes apiece, for the most part he and a talented band manage just that, presenting music from throughout his career, including a 14-plus minute version of his hit "Grazing in the Grass." By the end, still exhorting the audience to greater enthusiasm, he seems more energetic than anyone in the room. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Hugh Masekela

Product Info:

  • UPC: 822545180524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm, Saturday: 9am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)