The Alan Parsons Project The Definitive Collection (2-CD)

The Definitive Collection (2-CD)
56 ratings
List Price: $24.98
Price: $22.48
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  34CGG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Arista

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.(The System Of) Doctor Tarr And Professor Fether
  • 2.The Raven
  • Buy for $0.993.I Robot
  • Buy for $1.294.I Wouldn't Want To Be Like You
  • Buy for $0.995.Breakdown
  • Buy for $0.996.Don't Let It Show
  • Buy for $0.997.Voyager
  • Buy for $0.998.What Goes Up
  • Buy for $0.999.The Eagle Will Rise Again
  • Buy for $0.9910.Can't Take It With You
  • Buy for $0.9911.Pyromania
  • Buy for $0.9912.Damned If I Do
  • Buy for $0.9913.Lucifer
  • Buy for $0.9914.If I Could Change Your Mind
  • Buy for $0.9915.The Turn Of A Friendly Card (Part 1)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Snake Eyes
  • Buy for $1.2917.Games People Play
  • Buy for $0.9918.Time

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.Sirius
  • Buy for $1.292.Eye In The Sky
  • Buy for $0.993.Psychobabble
  • Buy for $0.994.Mammagamma
  • Buy for $0.995.Old And Wise
  • Buy for $0.996.Prime Time
  • Buy for $0.997.Don't Answer Me
  • Buy for $0.998.You Don't Believe
  • Buy for $0.999.Let's Talk About Me
  • Buy for $0.9910.Days Are Numbers (The Traveller)
  • Buy for $0.9911.Stereotomy
  • Buy for $0.9912.In The Real World
  • Buy for $0.9913.Standing On Higher Ground
  • Buy for $0.9914.Too Late
  • Buy for $0.9915.Turn It Up
  • Buy for $0.9916.Re-Jigue

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Alan Parsons, Eric Woolfson (various instruments, background vocals); Leonard Whiting (vocals); Mr. Laser Beam (spoken word); Andrew Powell, Bob Hughes (conductor); John Miles (vocals, guitar); Ian Bairnson (acoustic & electric guitars, synthesizer, bass, backgrond vocals); David Paton (acoustic guitar); B.J. Cole (steel guitar); Richard Cottle (saxophone, synthesizer); Mel Collins (saxophone); Billy Lyall (piano); Duncan Mackay, Christopher North (keyboards); David Paton, Laurie Collie, Jack Puerta (bass); Stuart Tosh, Stuart Elliot (drums, percussion); Burleigh Drummond (drums); Jack Harris, Bob Howes, The English Chorale, Hilary Western (background vocals); The Orchestra Of The Munich Chamber Opera.
Principally recorded at Abbey Road Studios, Mayfair Studios, The Grange, London, England; Mama Jo's Studio, North Hollywood, California; Super Bear Studios, France; Acousti Studio, Paris, France; Parsonics, Sussex, England from April 1975 to August 1993. Includes liner notes by Kathleen & Denny Somach.
Digitally remastered by Alan Parsons and Simon Heyworth (Chop Em Out, London, England).
Personnel: Alan Parsons (keyboards, synthesizer, background vocals); Eric Woolfson (vocals, piano, keyboards); Chris Thompson, Lenny Zakatek, Colin Blunstone, David Paton, Elmer Gantry, Geoff Barradale, Jack Harris , John Miles, Leonard Whiting, Lesley Duncan, Allan Clarke, David Townsend, Dean Ford, Chris Rainbow (vocals); Ian Bairnson (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); John Heley (cello); Richard Cottle (saxophone, synthesizer); Mel Collins (saxophone); David Cripp (horns); Stuart Elliott (drums, percussion); Jacqueline Copeland (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Denny Somach.
Recording information: Acousti Studio, Paris, France (04/1975-08/1993); Air Studios, Hampstead, London, England (04/1975-08/1993); ARco Studio, Munich, Germany (04/1975-08/1993); EMI Abbey Road Studios, London, England (04/1975-08/1993); London, England (04/1975-08/1993); Mama Jo's Studio, North Hollywood, CA (04/1975-08/1993); Mayfair Studios, London, England (04/1975-08/1993); Parsonics, Sussex, England (04/1975-08/1993); Super Bear Studio, France (04/1975-08/1993); The Grange Studio (04/1975-08/1993).
Photographer: Arthur Tress.
Unknown Contributor Role: David Cripp.
As a man who worked behind the scenes on both the Beatles' ABBEY ROAD and Pink Floyd's DARK SIDE OF THE MOON, Alan Parsons certainly earned his reputation for being a producer and engineer with vision. Parsons applied that same sense of vision to his self-named solo project, which featured a revolving cast of musicians and vocalists. Though the music of the Alan Parsons Project can be classified as soft rock, and its accessible melodies and lush arrangements made it a perfect match for pop radio in the 1970s and '80s, it's also progressive, conceptual, and highly sophisticated.
THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION is a carefully selected and assembled two-disc set that represents the range and precision of Parsons's music from the '70s to the mid-'90s. His early work, inspired by science fiction and progressive rock, favored synth-heavy instrumentals. At the turn of the '80s, Parsons was leaning toward a more pop-friendly sound (as evidenced by the hits "Time" and "Eye in the Sky," both of which are included here), yet this material sacrifices none of his high-minded aesthetic, a trademark of his sound that continued into the '90s. As an overview of Parsons's career, and as a primer for anyone interested in the art rock of the period, THE DEFINITIVE COLLECTION is indispensable.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 56 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Alan Parsons Project

Product Info:

  • UPC: 078221896221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)