The Staple Singers City In The Sky

City In The Sky
3 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32GAE
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Stax

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.66
"[They] took the government to task on the Shaftesque 'Washington We're Watching You' and 'Something Ain't Right.'"


  • 1.Back Road Into Town
  • 2.City In The Sky
  • 3.Washington We're Watching You
  • 4.Something Ain't Right - The Staple Singers
  • 5.Today Was Tomorrow Yesterday
  • 6.My Main Man
  • 7.There Is A God
  • 8.Blood Pressure
  • 9.If It Ain't One Thing It's Another
  • 10.Who Made The Man
  • 11.Getting Too Big For Your Britches
  • 12.Oh La De Da
  • 13.I Like The Things About You
  • 14.Respect Yourself
  • 15.I'll Take You There

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Clayton Ivey, Barry Beckett, Jimmy Johnson, Eddie Hinton, Raymond Jackson, David Hood, Roger Hawkins, The Memphis Horns.
Recorded between 1972 and 1974.
Recording information: Ardent Recording Studios, Memphis, TN (10/1972-??/1974); Muscle Shoals Sound Studios, AL (10/1972-??/1974); Pampa Recording Studios, Warren, MI (10/1972-??/1974); Wally (10/1972-??/1974).
City in the Sky, the final LP that the Staple Singers made with Stax Records, features the same socially conscious lyrics and powerful singing that had become their trademark before the album's 1974 release. While the original recording didn't have the kind of explosive singles like "Respect Yourself" and "I'll Take You There" that helped them become legends of soul music, this is by no means a weak album. The opener "Back Road Into Town" seethes with energy and anger-tinged pride, while "Washington We're Watching You" combines that same message of anger and pride with organ and horn-driven funk. The Staple Singers return to the gospel style that had begun their musical career nearly 20 years before with "Who Made the Man," -- perhaps the strongest song on the album, alternating between gentle invectives by Pop Staples and powerful harmonic blasts by Mavis, Cleotha, and Yvonne. Overall, the album combines a classic Stax-influenced soul sound with a strong message, making it an essential part of the Staples Singers' catalog. [The 1996 CD reissue of City in the Sky features four bonus tracks, including "Oh La De Da" and live versions of "I Like the Things About You," "Respect Yourself," and "I'll Take You There."] ~ Stacia Proefrock

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Staple Singers

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218883023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)