Mott The Hoople In Performance 1970-1974 (4-CD/Import)

In Performance 1970-1974 (4-CD/Import)
4 ratings
Price: $62.96
List Price: $69.95
You Save: $6.99 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  359E9
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: ANGEL AIR

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Ohio
  • 2.No Wheels to Ride
  • 3.Rock 'n' Roll Queen
  • 4.Thunderbuck Ram
  • 5.When My Minds Gone
  • 6.Keep 'a' Knockin
  • 7.You Really Got Me
  • 8.Long Red
  • 9.Original Mixed Up Kid
  • 10.Laugh at Me
  • 11.Thunderbuck Ram

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Jerkin Crocus
  • 2.Sucker
  • 3.Hymn for the Dudes
  • 4.Ready for Love
  • 5.Sweet Jane
  • 6.Sea Diver
  • 7.Sweet Angeline
  • 8.One of the Boys
  • 9.Midnight Lady
  • 10.All the Young Dudes
  • 11.Honky Tonk Women

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.No Wheels to Ride
  • 2.Whisky Women
  • 3.Walkin with a Mountain / Jumpin Jack Flash / Satisfaction
  • 4.It'll Be Me
  • 5.Angel of Eighth Avenue
  • 6.Drivin' Sister
  • 7.All the Young Dudes
  • 8.All the Way from Memphis
  • 9.Sweet Angeline
  • 10.Death May Be Your Santa Clause
  • 11.Ballard of Billy Joe
  • 12.If Your Heart Lay with the Rebel
  • 13.It Would Be a Pleasure

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.American Pie
  • 2.Golden Age of Rock n Roll
  • 3.Sucker
  • 4.Roll Away the Stone / Sweet Jane
  • 5.Rest in Peace
  • 6.Here Comes the Queen
  • 7.One of the Boys
  • 8.Born Late 58
  • 9.Hymn for the Dudes
  • 10.Marionette
  • 11.Drivin' Sister / Crash Street Kids / Violence
  • 12.All the Way from Memphis
  • 13.All the Young Dudes

Product Description:

Mott the Hoople: Mick Ralphs (vocals, guitar); Ian Hunter (vocals, piano); Verden Allen (organ); Overend Watts (bass guitar); Dale "Buffin" Griffin (drums).
Liner Note Author: Keith Smith.
There was a time, believe it or not, when Mott the Hoople live recordings were scarcer than fish lips, the consequence of the band's utterly uncompromising attitude towards bootlegging. Today, there is scarcely a significant moment in the band's development that cannot be reflected by a live album, from their earliest visit to the Fillmore to their final trip down Broadway, and, in between times, a series of discs follow the band through what once seemed an endless series of peaks. In Performance does not add to that corpus; it does, however, tidy it up a little. The four discs in this box set are little more than a straightforward repackaging of shows that the Angel Air label has already taken around the block once: the 1970 Croydon gig that was originally recorded for an official release but wound supplying a mere one song to the band's next studio album; five tracks recorded in Stockholm in 1971; a 1972 show in Philadelphia, touring All the Young Dudes and welcoming David Bowie on-stage to join in the chorus for the title song; a stupendous 1974 King Biscuit broadcast from Santa Monica, with the band at the peak of their glam rocking powers, and a 13-song mishmash of live cuts and demos recorded between 1971-1973. There are no bonus tracks, and no subsequent remastering. But, if you haven't picked up the original discs yet, this is the package for you. The bookshelf-style box is beautifully designed, and a perfect match for the studio roundup that Sony released a few years back, while a well-stuffed 48-page booklet penned by Mott fan club guru Keith Smith delivers some extra bang for your buck. Plus, Mott were rarely ever less than blazing hot on-stage, and this box captures them both seething and steaming. ~ Dave Thompson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 2.5
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Mott The Hoople

Product Info

  • UPC: 5055011708013
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)