Eddie Floyd Rare Stamps / I've Never Found a Girl

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rare Stamps / I've Never Found a Girl
10% OFF
Rating 5.0
2 ratings
List Price: $14.98
SALE PRICE: $13.47
You Save: $1.51 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  STX 88013

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Stax


  • 1.Bring It On Home To Me
  • 2.Never Give You Up
  • 3.Girl I Love You
  • 4.Hobo
  • 5.I Need You Woman
  • 6.I've Never Found A Girl
  • 7.I'll Take Her
  • 8.Slip Away
  • 9.I'm Just The Kind of Fool
  • 10.Water
  • 11.Sweet Things You Do
  • 12.Knock On Wood
  • 13.Raise Your Hand
  • 14.Love Is A Doggone Good Thing
  • 15.On A Saturday Night
  • 16.Things Get Better (Mono)
  • 17.Big Bird (Mono)
  • 18.Got To Make A Comeback
  • 19.I've Just Been Feeling Bad
  • 20.This House
  • 21.I've Got To Have Your Love
  • 22.Consider Me (Mono)
  • 23.Never Let You Go (Duet With Mavis Staples)
  • 24.Ain't That Good (Duet With Mavis Staples)
  • 25.Laurie

Product Description:

Personnel: Eddie Floyd (vocals); Steve Cropper (guitar); Andrew Love (saxophone, tenor saxophone); Wayne Jackson (trumpet); Joe Arnold, Ben Cauley, Ed Logan (horns); Isaac Hayes (piano, organ, keyboards); Booker T. Jones (keyboards); Al Jackson, Jr. (drums).
Audio Remixer: Steve Cropper.
Recording information: Stax Recording Studio, Memphis, TN (07/1966-07/1968).
Unknown Contributor Role: The Mar-Key Horns.
Arranger: Steve Cropper.
RARE STAMPS brings together selections from veteran soul singer Eddie Floyd's I'VE NEVER FOUND A GIRL and CHRONICLE: GREATEST HITS albums. Floyd had made a name for himself as an ace songwriter on prior work but this collection reveals his skills as a vocalist. His actual vocal style is more laid back and a little smoother than that of his Stax peers.
The album was written for his deceased labelmate, Otis Redding. Floyd and the band turn the lament into an ominous cry. There is menace to the music, heartbreak turned inward and transformed into something far darker.
The Stax house band, Booker T. and the MG's, provides a flawless canvas for Floyd. The loping bass pulse that introduces "Bring it on to Me" provides a background that's ideal for Floyd's voice. The band pumps up for the rollicking "Hobo," an insistent tune that pushes Floyd further than he's usually accustomed to going. "Big Bird" takes things even further. The mighty Mavis Staples (the earth-moving voice behind the Staple Singers' "I'll Take You There") even shows up near the end of the collection for two tunes.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Eddie Floyd

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 24,323
  • UPC: 025218881326
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the R&B / Soul genre:

Top ranking CD: