Eddie Floyd Soul Street

Soul Street
1 rating
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  359DA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Stax


  • Buy for $0.991.Something To Write Home About
  • Buy for $0.992.We've Been Through Too Much Together
  • Buy for $0.993.Watcha Gonna Do With My Heart
  • Buy for $0.994.I Wanna Do Things For You
  • Buy for $0.995.Baby, Lay Your Head Down (Gently On My Bed)
  • Buy for $0.996.The Highway Man
  • Buy for $0.997.I Hear Footsteps (Coming Closer)
  • Buy for $0.998.(I Didn't Know What Losing Was) 'Til I Lost You
  • Buy for $1.299.Check Me Out
  • Buy for $0.9910.Lay Your Loving On Me
  • Buy for $0.9911.Soul Street
  • Buy for $0.9912.I Don't Want To Be With Nobody But My Baby
  • Buy for $0.9913.Stealing Love
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Am So Grateful
  • Buy for $0.9915.Don't You Know That It's All Right
  • Buy for $0.9916.Guess Who
  • Buy for $0.9917.Stop, Look What Your Doing To Me
  • Buy for $0.9918.I'm So Glad I Met You
  • Buy for $0.9919.Your Love Is Amazin'
  • Buy for $0.9920.Stick With Me Baby

Product Description:

The 1997 Stax reissue of SOUL STREET also contains tracks from BABY, LAY YOUR HEAD DOWN (GENTLY ON MY BED).
Personnel: Eddie Floyd (vocals, background vocals); Eddie Hinton, Eddie Willis (guitar); Joe Shamwell (melodica, background vocals); The Memphis Horns (horns); Clayton Ivey, Earl Van Dyke, Barry Beckett (keyboards); Roger Hawkins (drums); Bobby Eaton, Oma Drake, Hot Buttered Soul Unlimited, Yolanda McCullough, Pamela Vincent, Ben Knight, Joyce Vincent, Stephanie Spruill, Gloria Jones (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Larry Nix.
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Audio Remixers: Robert Jackson; William Brown ; Bill Lazerus.
Liner Note Author: Rob Bowman.
Recording information: Bryon Lee's Studio, Kingston, Jamaica (1972-1974); Byron Lee's Studio, Kingston, Jamaica (1972-1974); Muscle Shoals Sound Studio, Sheffield, AL (1972-1974); Paramount Studio, Los Angeles, CA (1972-1974); Paramount Studios, Los Angeles, CA (1972-1974); Parmount Studio, LA, CA (1972-1974); Stax Recording Studios, Memphis (1972-1974).
Ensembles: Con Funk Shun; Hot Buttered Soul Unlimited; The Memphis Horns.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Rob Bowman; The Memphis Horns.
Arrangers: Dale Warren; James Mitchell ; Johnny Allen; Al Bell.
Floyd's seventh and last album for Stax contained a tiny R&B hit in the title track. The record employed the Con Funk Shun rhythm section that would soon rise to soul stardom on their own. But there wasn't much special about the tunes, which revealed some influences from the sounds of Philadelphia and Hi Records, both of which were then peaking in popularity. The CD reissue pairs the album and its predecessor, Baby, Lay Your Head Down (Gently on My Bed), onto one disc, although it's sequenced so that the earlier LP plays first. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Eddie Floyd

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218883528
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)