Billy Eckstine Senior Soul / If She Walked Into My Life

Senior Soul / If She Walked Into My Life
5 ratings
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34CD2
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Stax


  • 1.I'll Always Have Faith In You
  • 2.A Man Who Sings
  • 3.A Song For You
  • 4.Thank You For The Moment
  • 5.Please Send Me Someone To Love
  • 6.Today Was Tomorrow Yesterday
  • 7.Don't Lose Faith In Me Lord
  • 8.I Believe In Music
  • 9.Living Like A Gypsy
  • 10.When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
  • 11.The Taste Of My Tears
  • 12.Remembering
  • 13.I Am Yours
  • 14.Maybe This Time
  • 15.Sophisticated Lady
  • 16.If She Walked Into My Life
  • 17.The Very Thought Of You
  • 18.Loving Arms
  • 19.All In Love Is Fair
  • 20.Mister, You've Gone And Got The Blues

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Rob Bowman.
Personnel: Billy Eckstine (vocals); Marvell Thomas (keyboards); Raymond Jackson, Bobby Manuel (guitar); Leroy Hodges (bass); Al Jackson, Jr. (drums); Sherlie Matthews Singers (background vocals).
Engineers: Ami Hadani, Nye Morton, Terry Manning.
Recorded at T.T.G. Studios, Hollywood, California and Ardent Studios, Memphis, Tennessee between October 1971 and April 1972. Originally released on Enterprise (5004).
Personnel includes: Billy Eckstine (vocals); The Robert Tucker Orchestra.
Engineer: Ami Hadani.
Recorded at T.T.G. Studios, Hollywood, California between January 24, 1973 and January 15, 1974. Originally released on Enterprise (7503).
Personnel: Billy Eckstine (vocals); Raymond Jackson , Bobby Manuel (guitar); Marvell Thomas (keyboards); Al Jackson, Jr. (drums); Sherlie Matthews (background vocals).
Audio Remixers: Dave Purple; Terry Manning.
Liner Note Author: Rob Bowman.
Photographer: Joel Brodsky.
Arrangers: Jimmy Jones ; Mike Melvoin; Artie Butler; Billy Byers; Billy Eckstine.
Combining two albums Eckstine recorded for the Enterprise division of Stax Records during the early '70s, Senior Soul/If She Walked Into My Life combines the sweet Southern tilt to Memphis soul listeners expect from Stax with one of the leading proto-soul stars. Though Eckstine's rich vibrato tones were both out of fashion and much more difficult to accomplish as he neared 60, there are several solid tracks here, including updates of standards ("Please Send Me Someone to Love," "Sophisticated Lady," "The Very Thought of You") and newer classics ("When Something Wrong Is My Baby," "I Believe in Music," "I'll Always Have Faith in You") specially chosen for Eckstine's wonderfully smooth sensibilities. ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.6
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Billy Eckstine

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218882323
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)