Bar-Kays Black Rock / Gotta Groove

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Black Rock / Gotta Groove
10% OFF
Rating 4.0
2 ratings
List Price: $14.98
Your Price: $13.47
You Save: $1.51 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  STX 88018

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: June 14, 1994
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Stax


  • 1.Don't Stop Dancing ( To The Music) Part 1
  • 2.If This World Was Mine
  • 3.In The Hole
  • 4.Funky Thang
  • 5.Jiving 'Round
  • 6.Grab This Thing
  • 7.Don't Stop Dancing (To The Music) Part 2
  • 8.Street Walker
  • 9.Yesterday
  • 10.Humpin'
  • 11.Hey Jude
  • 12.Baby I Love You
  • 13.I've Been Trying
  • 14.You Don't Know Like I Know
  • 15.Dance To The Music
  • 16.A Piece Of Your Peace
  • 17.Six O' Clock News Report
  • 18.How Sweet It Would Be
  • 19.Montego Bay

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: BLACK ROCK (1971)/GOTTA GROOVE (1969).
The Bar-Kays: Larry Dodson (vocals); Michael Toles (guitar); Harvey Henderson (tenor saxophone); Joe Arnold, Andrew Love (saxophone); Ben Cauley (trumpet); Ronnie Gordon, Bobby Manuel (keyboards); James Alexander (bass); Roy Cunningham, Willie Hall (drums).
Producers: Allen Jones, Al Bell, Tom Nixon.
Engineers include: Ron Capone, Bobby Manuel, William Brown.
Recorded between 1968 and 1970. Originally released on Volt as two separate LPs (6004, 6011). Includes liner notes by Lee Hildebrand.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1994, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
The Bar-Kays were early progenitors of '70s funk. BLACK ROCK/GOTTA GROOVE is two records on one CD; both albums feature early incarnations of the band. The tracks on GOTTA GROOVE are from 1968, one year after the group had lost four of its members in the same plane crash that killed Otis Redding.
Two drummers, Roy Cunningham and Willie Hall, are heard on many of the tracks, and bring extra drive and ferocity to the groove. Highlights of BLACK ROCK/GOTTA GROOVE include "Don't Stop Dancing (To the Music)" and "In the Hole," both of which display early forms of the group's black rock/funk sound, a kind of Jimi Hendrix/Sly and the Family Stone musical cocktail. Other influences abound, however; for example, the Bar-Kays' instrumental version of Paul McCartney's "Yesterday," featuring Ben Cauley's smooth trumpet work, is decidedly reminiscent of Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Bar-Kays

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 97,761
  • UPC: 025218881821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: