Bar-Kays Do You See What I See?

Do You See What I See?
5 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  34G2A
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Stax


  • 1.Do You See What I See?
  • 2.God Is Watching
  • 3.Be Yourself
  • 4.You're The Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me
  • 5.You're Still My Brother
  • 6.I Was Made To Love Her
  • 7.Your Good thing (Is About To End)
  • 8.It Ain't East
  • 9.Love Pollution
  • 10.People, Unite To Save Humanity
  • 11.In The Hole
  • 12.Copy Kat
  • 13.Memphis At Sunrise
  • 14.Medley: Son Of Shaft / Feel It
  • 15.I Can't Turn You Loose

Product Description:

The Bar-Kays: Charles Allen (vocals, trumpet); Larry Dodd (vocals, vibraphone); James Alexander (vocals, bass); Vernon Burch, Bobby Manuel, Michael Toles, Jerome McLaughlin (guitar); Harvey Henderson (flute, saxophone); Winston Stewart, Ronnie Gordon (keyboards); Willie Hall (drums).
Additional personnel includes: Andrew Love, James Mitchell (saxophone); Wayne Jackson (trumpet).
Recorded at Stax Recording Studios & Satellite Recording Studio, Memphis, Tennessee between 1968 and 1972; live at Memorial Coliseum, Los Angeles, California on August 20, 1972. Includes liner notes by Ron Bowman.
Digitally remastered by Joe Tarantino (1996, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Personnel: Larry "D" Dodson (vocals, vibraphone); James Alexander (vocals); Vernon Burch, Michael Toles (guitar); Harvey "Joe" Henderson (flute, saxophone); James Mitchell , Andrew Love (saxophone); Wayne Jackson, Ben Cauley, Charles "Scoop" Allen (trumpet); Ronnie Gordon, Winston Stewart (keyboards); Roy Cunningham, Willie Hall (drums).
Audio Remasterer: Joe Tarantino.
Liner Note Author: Rob Bowman.
Recording information: Memorial Coliseum, Los Angeles, CA (09/16/1968-08/20/1972); Satellite Recording Studio, Memphis, TN (09/16/1968-08/20/1972); Stax Recording Studio, Memphis, TN (09/16/1968-08/20/1972).
Unknown Contributor Roles: Roy Cunningham; Vernon Burch; James Alexander ; Michael Toles; The Memphis Horns; Willie Hall; Winston Stewart; Ben Cauley; Bobby Manuel.
Arranger: Allen Jones .
In the course of the Bar-Kays' 30-year career, the album given the least amount of recognition has been DO YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? Given the soulful, inspired playing featured here, this is unfortunate. On this early '70s release, The Bar-Kays' music is catchy, danceable and all around attention-grabbing. Younger generations may have missed out on this supergroup, but their musical legacy is truly indelible. The Bar-Kays played a key role in the evolution of soul music into funk during the 1970's.
DO YOU SEE WHAT I SEE? showcases the talents of the Memphis band; the music is both innovative and hypnotic. The Bar-Kays lay down a variety of party grooves that rival, if not better, their contemporaries', as evidenced by songs such as "I Was Made to Love Her" and "Love Pollution." The tight horn arrangements and clavinet lines are infectious, and the passionate vocals and rock-steady drumming make these tunes perfect to boogie to. It gets no funkier than this.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Bar-Kays

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218882828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)