Message From The Country (Plus Bonus Tracks)

Message From The Country (Plus Bonus Tracks)
24 ratings
Price: $15.49
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.49 (9% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  35983
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Capitol


  • 1.Message From The Country
  • 2.Ella James
  • 3.No Time
  • 4.Don't Mess Me Up
  • 5.Until Your Moma's Gone
  • 6.It Wasn't My Idea To Dance
  • 7.The Minister
  • 8.Ben Crawley Steel Company
  • 9.The Words Of Aaron
  • 10.My Marge
  • 11.Tonight
  • 12.Chinatown
  • 13.Down On The Bay
  • 14.Do Ya
  • 15.California Man
  • 16.Don't Mess Me Up
  • 17.The Words Of Aaron
  • 18.Do Ya

Product Description:

Personnel: Roy Wood (vocals, guitar, steel guitar, clarinet, oboe, bassoon, saxophone, bass guitar, background vocals); Jeff Lynne (vocals, guitar, piano, electric piano, percussion, background vocals); Bev Bevan (vocals, drums, percussion, background vocals).
Liner Note Authors: Roy Wood; Jeff Lynne; John VanDerKiste; Bev Bevan.
Photographers: Martin Kinch; Michael Putland.
By 1971, it was clear that changes were in the offing for the Move. Message from the Country shows them carrying their sound, within the context of who they were, about as far as they could. One can hear them hit the limits of what guitars, bass, drums, and keyboards, with lots of harmony overdubs and ornate singing, could do. Indeed, parts of this record sound almost like a dry run from the first Electric Light Orchestra album, which was in the planning stages at the time. The influence of the Beatles runs through most of the songs stylistically. Particularly in Jeff Lynne's case, it was as though someone had programmed "Paperback Writer" and other chronologically related pop-psychedelic songs by the Beatles into the songwriting and arranging, but across its ten songs, the album also shot for a range of sound akin to the White Album, except that the members of the Move are obviously working much more closely together. Reduced to a trio and all but wiped out as a live act, they went ahead and generated what was, song for song, their most complex and challenging album. Heard today, it seems charmingly ornate in execution, yet also simple in the listening, very basic rock & roll dressed up in the finest raiment that affordable studio time could provide. Despite the obvious jump from the post-psychedelic "Message from the Country" to the driving, delightful "Ella James" and the leap into airy pop-psychedelia on "No Time," not to mention the novelty interlude of "Don't Mess Me Up," there's a sense of unity here, the entire album somehow holding together as something powerful, bracing, and visceral, yet cheerfully trippy. In that sense, it goes The White Album one better. Based on its musical merits, it all should have sold the way some ELO albums later did, instead of getting lost in the transition between the histories of the two groups. And 35 years on and counting, it's still essential listening for fans of either the Move or ELO, as well as Roy Wood. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 24 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Move

Product Info

  • UPC: 094633034228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)