John Lee Hooker Graveyard Blues

Graveyard Blues
12 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32GXA
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Fantasy Warehouse Clearance Sale product may be specifically marked for one-way sale
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1992
  • Label: Specialty


  • 1.War Is Over (Goodbye California)
  • 2.Henry's Swing Club
  • 3.Alberta
  • 4.Hastings Street Boogie
  • 5.Build Myself A Cave
  • 6.Momma Poppa Boogie
  • 7.Graveyard Blues
  • 8.Burnin' Hell
  • 9.Sailing Blues
  • 10.Black Cat Blues
  • 11.Miss Sadie Mae
  • 12.Canal Street Blues
  • 13.Huckle Up Baby
  • 14.Goin' Down Highway 51
  • 15.Sail On, Little Girl, Sail On
  • 16.Alberta (Part 2)
  • 17.My Baby's Got Something
  • 18.Boogie Chillen #2
  • 19.21 Boogie
  • 20.Rollin' Blues

Product Description:

Personnel: John Lee Hooker (vocals, guitar), Andrew Dunham (guitar), Eddie Burns (harmonica).
Recorded from 1948-1950 for Sensation Records. Includes liner notes by Billy Vera.
Digitally remastered by Kirk Felton (1992, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley).
Personnel: John Lee Hooker (vocals, guitar); Andrew Dunham (guitar); Eddie "Guitar" Burns (harmonica).
Unknown Contributor Role: Eddie "Guitar" Burns.
Much of Hooker's best-loved work was recorded for independent Chicago labels like Vee-Jay in the '50s and '60s, but the bluesman's long, prolific career began in the late '40s in Detroit. During that time, as chronicled on GRAVEYARD BLUES, Hooker refined the doomy, foot-stomping boogie style that would become his trademark. The Hooker of '49-'50 sounds less tormented, lacking the existential edge of his later recordings. Instead, there's a light-heartedness and almost peppy swing to these tunes. Hooker's voice is a touch higher and less throaty, but his guitar is cutting, and he'd already mastered his patented boogie beat. Hooker achieved no small amount of success with his recordings from this era, including one of his most famous songs, "Boogie Chillen," heard here in an alternate version. GRAVEYARD BLUES offers a glimpse of an important, formative period in Hooker's career.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 12 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for John Lee Hooker

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 71,052
  • UPC: 022211701828
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)