The Kinks Kinda Kinks [Japan]

Kinda Kinks [Japan]
10% OFF
LOW STOCK: Only 1 copy left
List Price: $20.99
Your Price: $18.89
You Save: $2.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  SACT 202622
on most orders of $75
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 20, 2007
  • Label: Sanctuary Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.86
4.5 stars out of 5 -- "Davies explodes as a songwriter, from the maybe-love-doesn't-suck ballad 'Something Better Beginning' to the no-actually-it-does ditty 'Nothin' in the World Can Stop Me Worryin' 'Bout That Girl.'"
Uncut - 11/01, p.112
3 stars out of 5 - "...A riveting monophonic portfolio of the brothers Davies in their fast, furious infancy..."
Record Collector (magazine) - pp.91-92
4 stars out of 5 -- "KINDA KINKS saw subtleties arrive with 'So Long' and the beautiful 'Tired Of Waitin' For You.'"


  • 1.Look For Me Baby
  • 2.Got My Feet On The Ground
  • 3.Nothin' In The World Can Stop Me Worryin' 'Bout That Girl
  • 4.Naggin' Woman
  • 5.Wonder Where My Baby Is Tonight
  • 6.Tired of Waiting For You
  • 7.Dancing In The Streets
  • 8.Don't Ever Change
  • 9.Come On Now
  • 10.So Long
  • 11.You Shouldn't Be Sad
  • 12.Something Better Beginning
  • 13.Everbody's Gonna Be Happy
  • 14.Who'll Be The Next In Line
  • 15.Set Me Free
  • 16.I Need You
  • 17.See My Friends
  • 18.Never Meet A Girl Like You Before
  • 19.Wait Until The Summer Comes Along
  • 20.Such A Shame
  • 21.A Well Respected Man
  • 22.Don't You Fret
  • 23.I Go To Sleep

Product Description:

The Kinks: Ray Davies, Dave Davies (vocals, guitar); Pete Dalton (bass); Mick Avory (drums).
Additional personnel includes: Jimmy Page (12-string guitar); Perry Ford (piano); Jon Lord (Hammond B-3 organ); Bobby Graham (drums).
Recorded at Pye Studios, London, England in 1964. Originally released on Pye (18096). Includes original liner notes by Brian Sommerville and reissue liner notes by Peter Doggett.
Digitally remastered by Simon Heyworth.
The Kinks: Ray Davies, Dave Davies (vocals, guitar); Peter Quaife (bass); Mick Avory (drums).
Includes liner notes by Peter Doggett.
Peter Dogget describes pop music careers in 1964 England like this: "[U]nless you were Cliff Richard or the Beatles you were likely to be forgotten within 12 months of your first hit." This album was initially intended as a way to cash in on the primal magic of "You Really Got Me" before the Kinks got too stale for the fickle youth. However, history would show that this tidy R&B combo had one of the most inventive and creative bandleaders in '60s and '70s rock & roll in Mr. Ray Davies.
This reissued, remastered version of the band's eponymous debut--complete with 12 bonus tracks, including the previously unreleased Davies composition "I Don't Need You Anymore"--may not hold up to the high level of The Kinks' groundbreaking work over the decade. But there are hints that Davies would become one of the most unusual and melodic songwriters of a generation. One listen to "Just Can't Go To Sleep" and it's clear the die was cast: Davies had a voice all his own. Dedicated fans will certainly enjoy THE KINKS, but this fine reissue would also be of interest to connoisseurs of young, white R&B on the order of the early Who and Rolling Stones.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Kinks

Product Info:

  • UPC: 5050749202628
  • Shipping Weight: 0.23/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item