Jackson Browne For Everyman

For Everyman
36 ratings
Price: $13.57
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.41 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32GSG
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

James Taylor
  • James Taylor The Best of James Taylor (CD) $10.96
  • James Taylor
  • James Taylor Sweet Baby James (CD) $6.51
  • CD Details

    • Released: 1987
    • Originally Released: 1986
    • Label: Asylum Records

    Entertainment Reviews:

    Rolling Stone - 8/5/99, p.71
    4 stars (out of 5) - "...the songwriter of the moment on a Seventies scene that was just emerging as a cultural force....he was testing his talents with obvious joy, because, like his audience, he was just discovering them."


    • 1.Take It Easy
    • 2.Our Lady Of The Well
    • 3.Colors Of The Sun
    • 4.I Thought I Was A Child
    • 5.These Days
    • 6.Red Neck Friend
    • 7.These Times You've Come
    • 8.Ready Or Not
    • 9.Sing My Song To Me
    • 10.For Everyman

    Product Description:

    Personnel: Jackson Browne (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, piano, keyboards); Jackson Browne; Doug Haywood (vocals, bass instrument, background vocals); Don Henley, Glenn Frey, Bonnie Raitt (vocals, background vocals); Jon Douglas Haywood (vocals); Sneaky Pete Kleinow (pedal steel guitar); Rockaday Johnnie, Rockaday Johnnie (piano); Mike Utley (organ, keyboards); Leland Sklar, Wilton Felder (bass instrument); Mickey McGee, Micky McGee (drums); David Crosby (background vocals); David Lindley (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, steel guitar, violin, fiddle); Joni Mitchell (piano, electric piano); Bill Payne (piano, keyboards); Craig Doerge, David Paich (piano); Michael Utley, Spooner Oldham (organ); Gary Mallaber, Jim Keltner, Russ Kunkel (drums).
    Audio Mixer: Al Schmitt.
    Recording information: Sunset Sound, Studio One (1973).
    Browne's second album is state of the art early '70s L.A. ruminative singer/songwriter stuff, but in retrospect it's nowhere near as slick or mellow as the listener might remember. In fact, the combination of Sneaky Pete Kleinow's pealing steel and David Lindley's smudgy psychedelic lead guitar on songs like "Take It Easy" (all but unrecognizable from the Eagles' pop version) and "Our Lady of the Well" create a sound that eerily anticipates the '90s alt country rock of the Jayhawks and Golden Smog.
    Even better, Browne's songwriting, though not quite as consistent as on his debut, is still in top form here. The poignant, often-covered "These Days," the uptempo feel and nudge-nudge humor of "Red Neck Friend," the autobiographical "Ready or Not," and the reflective title track all rank among Browne's best tunes. FOR EVERYMAN has a fuller sound than the singer's debut, and the new sonic textures and excellent songwriting proved that Browne's success with the first album was no fluke, and that he was in the game for keeps.

    Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

    Customer Rating:
    Based on 36 ratings.
    Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

    Similar Products

    Get Email Alerts for Jackson Browne

    Product Info

    • Sales Rank: 69,680
    • UPC: 075596062626
    • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
    • International Shipping: 1 item

    To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
    Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
    Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)