The Pogues If I Should Fall from Grace with God [Australia Bonus Tracks]

If I Should Fall from Grace with God [Australia
15 ratings
Only 6 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.68 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $2.30 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  32GR9
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Warner Spec. Mkt. UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone
3.5 Stars - Very Good
Uncut - p.158
4 stars out of 5 - "There's no doubting the vaulting musical ambition of their third album..."
Magnet - p.88
"[T]he Pogues' most musically ambitious release....With multi-instrumentalists Jimmy Fearnley and newcomer Terry Woods propelling the [group]..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.123
5 stars out of 5 - "[A]n amazingly original, democratically written and ethnically adventurous album..."


  • 1.If I Should Fall from Grace with God
  • 2.Turkish Song of the Damned
  • 3.Bottle of Smoke
  • 4.Fairytale of New York
  • 5.Metropolis
  • 6.Thousands Are Sailing
  • 7.Fiesta
  • 8.Medley: The Recruiting Sergeant / The Rocky Road / Road to Dublin / The ...
  • 9.Streets of Sorrow / Birmingham Six
  • 10.Lullaby of London
  • 11.Sit Down by the Fire
  • 12.The Broad Majestic Shannon
  • 13.Worms
  • 14.Battle March, The (Medley)
  • 15.The Irish Rover
  • 16.Mountain Dew
  • 17.Shanne Bradley
  • 18.Sketches of Spain
  • 19.South Australia

Product Description:

The Pogues: Shane MacGowan (vocals, guitar); Philip Chevron (guitar, mandolin, background vocals); Jem Finer (banjo, mandola, saxophone); Terry Woods (guitar, mandola, tenor banjo, dulcimer, cittern, concertina); Spider Stacy (tin whistle, background vocals); James Fearnley (piano, accordion, mandola, dulcimer, percussion, cello); Darryl Hunt (bass, percussion, background vocals); Andrew Ranken (drums, percussion, harmonica, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Kirsty MacColl (vocals); Ron Kavana (mandolin, tenor banjo, spoons, background vocals); Siobhan Sheahan (harp); Brian Clarke (alto saxophone); Joe Cashman (tenor saxophone); Eli Thompson, Chris Lee (trumpet); Paul Taylor (trombone); Fran Byrne (bodhran); Brian Sheridan, John Lawler, Joe Cashman, Paul Verner, Steve Lillywhite, Frank Murray, Paul Scully (background vocals).
Engineers: Chris Dickie, Roy Spong, Nick Lacey.
The remastered edition features six additional tracks.
CD contains 6 bonus tracks.
IF I SHOULD FALL FROM GRACE WITH GOD marked an apex for the Pogues--with producer Steve Lillywhite at the helm, their neo-traditional Irish songcraft was given a particularly timeless touch without compromising any of the band's trademark intensity. Adding yet another wrinkle of the Irish experience to his profound, intense lyrical oeuvre, Shane MacGowan touches on the Irish in New York, occasionally conjuring up reminders of George M. Cohan (who even gets name-checked here, on "Thousands Are Sailing"). "Metropolis" is a jazzy, brass-fueled instrumental, while the over-the-top sentimentality and swirling strings of "Fairy Tale of New York" made it an instant Christmas classic.
From the irreverent bravado of the opening title track straight through to the jokey, fatalistic closer, "Worms," IF I SHOULD FALL is a rollicking, sometimes brutally honest document, driven hard by the band's inspiringly tight, masterful playing and propelled by the raspy vocal and compelling lyrical attack of MacGowan. "Bottle Of Smoke" is a breakneck thrill ride about a celebratory victory at the horse races, while "Streets Of Sorrow/Birmingham Six" finds Shane in a rare moment of political rant.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 15 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Pogues

Product Info

  • UPC: 5050467596023
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)