Townes Van Zandt Texas Rain - The Texas Hill Country Recordings

Texas Rain - The Texas Hill Country Recordings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  339H9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Tomato Records


  • 1.If I Needed You (with Emmylou Harris)
  • 2.Pancho & Lefty (with Freddy Fender, Rubin Ramos & The Texas Revolution, Doug Sahm, Augie Meyer)
  • 3.Waiting Around To Die (with Calvin Russell)
  • 4.Blue Wind Blew (with Jerry Jeff Walker)
  • 5.Kathleen (with The Chromatics)
  • 6.No Lonesome Tune (with Willie Nelson)
  • 7.Brother Flower (with Kimmie Rhodes)
  • 8.Two Girls (with Doug Sahm)
  • 9.Marie (with Willie Nelson)
  • 10.Quicksilver Daydreams Of Maria (with Freddy Fender, Rubin Ramos & The Texas Revolution, Doug Sahm, Augie Meyer)
  • 11.Snowin' On Raton (with James McMurtry)
  • 12.At My Window (with Kathy Mattea)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Townes Van Zandt (vocals, guitar); Emmylou Harris, Freddy Fender, Calvin Russell, Jerry Jeff Walker, Willie Nelson, Kimmie Rhodes, James McMurty, Kathy Mattea (vocals); John Inmon (acoustic & electric guitars); Doug Sahm (12-string guitar); Gene Elder (fiddle); The Texas Revolution (horns); Augie Meyer (accordion); Rubin Ramos, The Chromatics (background vocals).
Recorded at The Fire Station, San Marcos and Pedernales Studios, Perdernales, Texas. Includes liner notes by John Kruth.
Personnel: Rubin Ramos (vocals, background vocals); John Inmon (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Doc (acoustic guitar); Frog (electric guitar); Doug Sahm (12-string guitar); Gene Elders (fiddle); Augie Meyers (accordion); Riley Osborne (keyboards); Ernie Durawa (drums); James Fenner (percussion); Chromatics (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: John Kruth.
Recording information: Fire Station, San Marcos TX; New Orleans, LA; Pedernales Studios, Pedernales TX.
Photographers: Sol Mednick; Kevin Eggers.
Arranger: Kevin Eggers.
In the late 1980s, Texas singer-songwriter Townes Van Zandt set out to re-record many of his classic compositions for an envisioned box set entitled NEWOLOGY. 12 of these recordings finally surfaced in 2001 on the Tomato release TEXAS RAIN. Each of the tracks features a guest artist who provides a duet vocal.
While the recordings on TEXAS RAIN won't replace Van Zandt's earlier efforts as the definitive performances of these songs, each offers its own pleasures. Van Zandt's often-overlooked whimsical side shines through clearly on duets with Doug Sahm ("Two Girls") and Jerry Jeff Walker ("Blue Wind Blew"). His lyrical poeticism, for which Van Zandt is justly venerated by fellow songwriters, is evident on "Quicksilver Daydreams of Maria," "Kathleen," and his best-known composition, "Pancho and Lefty." Most affecting are Van Zandt's duets with Calvin Russell ("Waiting Around to Die") and Kathy Mattea ("At My Window"). Newcomers to Van Zandt's work might prefer to start with ANTHOLOGY: 1968-1979, which is a solid overview of Van Zandt's most creative period, or REAR VIEW MIRROR, a fine "best of" live album.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Townes Van Zandt

Product Info

  • UPC: 820550200121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)