Ian Dury All The Best, Mate... (Live)

All The Best, Mate... (Live)
1 rating
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  J9G4
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Demon Music Group Ltd.


  • 1.Intro
  • 2.Wake Up And Make Love With Me
  • 3.Clevor Trever
  • 4.Inbetweenies (Bonus Track)
  • 5.If I Was With A Woman
  • 6.Billericay Dickie
  • 7.Quiet
  • 8.My Old Man
  • 9.Spasticus Autisticus
  • 10.Plaistow Patricia
  • 11.There Ain't Half Been Some Clever Bastards
  • 12.Sweet Gene Vincent
  • 13.What A waste!
  • 14.Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick
  • 15.Blockheads
  • 16.Reasons To Be Cheerful Pt. 3 (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Ian Dury & The Blockheads: Ian Dury (vocals); Chaz Jankel (guitar, keyboards); Johnny Turnbull, Wilko Johnson, Merlin Rhys-Jones (guitar);
Davey Payne (saxophone); Mickey Gallagher (keyboards); Norman Watt-Roy (bass); Steven Monti (drums); Will Parnell (percussion).
Recorded live at The Brixton Academy, London, England on December 22, 1990.
Includes liner notes by Alan Robison.
Recording information: Brixton Academy, London, England (12/22/1990).
Posthumously released but recorded at a December 1990 reunion concert, ALL THE BEST, MATE finds Ian Dury and the Blockheads playing like they hadn't been broken up for nearly a decade. Besides being a signature phrase of Dury's, the title delivers on its promise: these 15 tracks are like a Blockheads primer. "Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick," "Reasons To Be Cheerful (Part Three)" and the Bonzo Dog Band-like "There Ain't Half Been Some Clever Bastards" are all present and accounted for (oddly, Dury's signature song, "Sex and Drugs and Rock and Roll," is missing), and the others range from the lovely ballad "Sweet Gene Vincent" to the controversial "Spasticus Autisticus." The band, led as always by the jazz-tinged pianist Chaz Jankel, plays wonderfully, and Dury is his usual lovable self. This is what live albums should be.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Ian Dury

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 116,607
  • UPC: 614475014327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)