Petula Clark Petula Clark Sings Tony Hatch

Petula Clark Sings Tony Hatch
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  JY6G
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

  • by Susan Boyle ~ The Gift ~ $5.97 (Save 25%)

CD Details

  • Released: October 19, 1998
  • Label: Castle/Select


  • 1.Downtown
  • 2.Call Me
  • 3.Darling Cheri
  • 4.I Know a Place
  • 5.Strangers and Lovers
  • 6.You'd Better Come Home
  • 7.You're the One
  • 8.Crying Through a Sleepless Night
  • 9.Gotta Tell the World
  • 10.Just Say Goodbye
  • 11.Sign of the Times
  • 12.There Goes My Love, There Goes My Life
  • 13.I Couldn't Live Without Your Love
  • 14.Who Am I?
  • 15.Vegas
  • 16.Beautiful in the Rain
  • 17.Colour My World
  • 18.Goodbye Mr. Chips
  • 19.Don't Sleep in the Subway
  • 20.After You
  • 21.Look at Mine
  • 22.Conversations in the Wind
  • 23.Other Man's Grass in Always Greener
  • 24.Cranes Flying South
  • 25.Valentino
  • 26.Have Another Dream on Me

Product Description:

This 26-song CD is a very sensible and illuminating collection, despite the presence of nearly a dozen very familiar hits. If he wasn't the mastermind behind Petula Clark's mid-1960s career boom, producer and songwriter Tony Hatch was certainly the catalyst. Associated with her for a decade, he provided the singer with the mid-career opening "Downtown," as well as such follow-up successes as "Call Me," "Color My World," "Don't Sleep in the Subway," "A Sign of the Times," and "I Know a Place," along with a brace of the lesser-known but generally pleasing pop numbers included here: "After You," "Goodbye Mr. Chips" (a lost song intended for the film of that name, co-starring Clark), "I Couldn't Live Without Your Love," "You're the One" (later a hit for the Vogues), and "Look at Mine." The compilers have even included such pre-"Downtown" Hatch-Clark collaborations as "Valentino." This pretty but unchallenging, bouncy piece of pop music shows just how radically her voice and delivery changed in the space of only a year. The song also reveals how much Hatch's production and arrangements had changed as well, having traded a light-pop sound for a texture of heavy rhythm guitar and drums, like the best British rock & roll of the period.
The range of sounds and styles here is impressive, as Clark assumes several different musical personae, all of which work, from dramatic song interpreter to pop-rock vocalist extraordinaire. The finely eloquent and dramatic "Goodbye Mr. Chips," the impassioned "Conversations in the Wind," and the ethereal "Cranes Flying South" are the never-before-issued songs that top off the value on this budget-priced English import. The notes are very thorough, and the mastering makes use of the most recent and highest quality digital transfers of the recordings. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Petula Clark

Product Info

  • UPC: 5034408653723
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)