Billie Holiday The Complete Verve Studio Master Takes (6-CD)

The Complete Verve Studio Master Takes (6-CD)
10% OFF
Rating 3.9
11 ratings
Only 6 copies left
List Price: $69.98
Your Price: $62.98
You Save: $7 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (6 Discs)
Item:  VERV 429102
on most orders of $75
Brand New

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 6
  • Released: December 19, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Verve

Description by

For many people, Billie Holiday (aka "Lady Day") wasn't just a jazz singer. She was the jazz singer, and remains so today. Thanks to her lifelong struggles with men, alcohol, and drug addiction, Holiday is often viewed as an archetypal example of the suffering artist - a singer who sang her life. And there's no denying the often heartrending quality of the classic recordings she made with musicians like Ben Webster, Oscar Peterson, and Harry "Sweets" Edison. This box set includes 100 tracks on 6 CDs, a 56-page book with many rare photographs, and much more.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.East Of The Sun (West Of The Moon)
  • 2.Blue Moon
  • 3.You Go To My Head
  • 4.You Turned The Tables On Me
  • 5.Easy To Love
  • 6.These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)
  • 7.I Only Have Eyes For You
  • 8.Solitude
  • 9.Everything I Have Is Yours
  • 10.Love For Sale
  • 11.Moonglow
  • 12.Tenderly
  • 13.If The Moon Turns Green
  • 14.Remember
  • 15.Autumn In New York
  • 16.My Man
  • 17.Lover, Come Back To Me
  • 18.Stormy Weather
  • 19.Yesterdays
  • 20.He's Funny That Way
  • 21.I Can't Face The Music

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.How Deep Is The Ocean?
  • 2.What A Little Moonlight Can Do
  • 3.I Cried For You
  • 4.Love Me Or Leave Me
  • 5.P.S. I Love You
  • 6.Too Marvelous For Words
  • 7.Softly
  • 8.I Thought About You
  • 9.Willow Weep For Me
  • 10.Stormy Blues
  • 11.Say It Isn't So
  • 12.I've Got My Love To Keep Me Warm
  • 13.I Wished On The Moon
  • 14.Always
  • 15.Everything Happens To Me
  • 16.Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me
  • 17.Ain't Misbehavin'

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.I Don't Want To Cry Anymore
  • 2.Prelude To A Kiss
  • 3.I Don't Stand) A Ghost Of A Chance With You
  • 4.When Your Lover Has Gone
  • 5.Gone With The Wind
  • 6.Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
  • 7.It Had To Be You
  • 8.Nice Work If You Can Get It
  • 9.Come Rain Or Come Shine
  • 10.I've Got A Right To Sing The Blues
  • 11.What's New
  • 12.Fine Romance
  • 13.I Hadn't Anyone Till You
  • 14.I Get A Kick Out Of You
  • 15.Everything I Have Is Yours
  • 16.Isn't This A Lovely Day?

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Trav'lin Light
  • 2.I Must Have That Man!
  • 3.Some Other Spring
  • 4.Lady Sings The Blues
  • 5.Strange Fruit
  • 6.God Bless The Child
  • 7.Good Morning Heartache
  • 8.No Good Man
  • 9.Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me
  • 10.Cheek To Cheek
  • 11.Ill Wind
  • 12.Speak Low
  • 13.We'll Be Together Again
  • 14.All Or Nothing At All
  • 15.Sophisticated Lady
  • 16.April In Paris

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.I Wished On The Moon
  • 2.Moonlight In Vermont
  • 3.Foggy Day
  • 4.I Didn't Know What Time It Was
  • 5.Just One Of Those Things
  • 6.Comes Love
  • 7.Day In Day Out
  • 8.Darn That Dream
  • 9.But Not For Me
  • 10.Body And Soul
  • 11.Stars Fell On Alabama
  • 12.Say It Isn't So
  • 13.Our Love Is Here To Stay
  • 14.One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.They Can't Take That Away From Me
  • 2.Embraceable You
  • 3.Let's Call The Whole Thing Off
  • 4.Gee Baby, Ain't I Good To You
  • 5.All The Way
  • 6.It's Not For Me To Say
  • 7.I'll Never Smile Again
  • 8.Just One More Chance
  • 9.When It's Sleepy Time Down South
  • 10.Don't Worry 'Bout Me
  • 11.Sometimes I'm Happy
  • 12.You Took Advantage Of Me
  • 13.There'll Be Some Changes Made
  • 14.Deed I Do
  • 15.All Of You
  • 16.Baby Won't You Please Come Home

Product Description:

Personnel: Billie Holiday (vocals); Billie Holiday; Janet Putnam (harp); Romeo Penque (bass clarinet, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Gene Quill (alto saxophone); Al Cohn (tenor saxophone); Danny Bank (baritone saxophone); Joe Newman Quartet , Joe Newman , Joe Wilder (trumpet); Billy Byers (trombone); Jimmy Rowles (piano, celesta); Joe Benjamin, Joe Mondragon, John Simmons , Milt Hinton, Ray Brown , Red Callender, Red Mitchell, Aaron Bell (double bass); Freddie Green, Herb Ellis, Kenny Burrell, Barney Kessel, Barry Galbraith, Billy Bauer (guitar); Tony Scott (clarinet); Willie Smith, Benny Carter (alto saxophone); Flip Phillips, Paul Quinichette, Ben Webster, Budd Johnson (tenor saxophone); Harry "Sweets" Edison , Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Jimmy Cleveland (trombone); Hank Jones (piano, celesta); Oscar Peterson (piano, organ); Wynton Kelly, Billy Taylor , Bobby Tucker (piano); Chico Hamilton, Cozy Cole, Lenny McBrowne, Gus Johnson , Larry Bunker, Alvin Stoller, Osie Johnson, Ed Shaughnessy (drums).
Recording information: Capitol Studios, Hollywood, CA (??/??/1952-03/11/1959); Fine Sound Studio, New York, NY (??/??/1952-03/11/1959); Los Angeles, CA (??/??/1952-03/11/1959); Metropolitan Sounds, New York, NY (??/??/1952-03/11/1959); New York, NY (??/??/1952-03/11/1959); Radio Recorders, Hollywood, CA (??/??/1952-03/11/1959).
Authors: Billie Holiday; Harry "Sweets" Edison ; Gail Jones; Robert O'Meally.
Director: Leroy Lovett.
Photographers: Katherine Holzman Goldblatt; Burt Goldblatt; Paul J. Hoeffler; Herman Leonard.
Arranger: Ray Ellis.
Billie Holiday fans will argue eternally over the relative merits of the different phases of her career. In these arguments Lady Day's work for Verve, which roughly covered the last decade of her life, often gets short shrift. While it cannot be denied that Holiday had lost much of the elasticity and spring in her voice (due in large part to a rough life filled with alcohol and drug abuse), and that the recordings were sometimes weighted too heavily with strings and saccharine arrangements, it is impossible to overlook the exquisite phrasing and raw emotion underscoring many of these performances.
THE COMPLETE VERVE STUDIO MASTER TAKES makes a definitive and compelling case for Holiday's Verve tenure. Packaged in a deep-dish metallic box (which resembles the world's most beautiful lunch pail), THE COMPLETE comprises six CDs, a 60-page booklet filled with rare photographs and superb liner notes, and dazzlingly crisp sound via digital remastering. The musicians on these sessions were some of the finest of the era, and Holiday herself--even with a gift impaired by time and abuse--sings with impeccable artistry, and beautifully enough to break the heart. The set is essential for completists, and is also a great one-stop for those looking to acquaint themselves with Lady Day's later work.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.9
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Billie Holiday

Product Info:

  • UPC: 602498803028
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 6 items