Elton John Peachtree Road (CD+DVD)

Peachtree Road (CD+DVD)
147 ratings
Price: $17.96
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $2.02 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  34XFX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: UMVD Labels

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.92
4 stars out of 5 - "PEACHTREE highlights once again just how soulful John's music can be."
Rolling Stone - p.146
Included in Rolling Stone's Top 50 Records Of 2004 - "Sir Elton's tuneful talents are still in evidence..."
Entertainment Weekly - p.120
"His voice and ability to craft canny hooks remain intact." - Grade: B-
Uncut - p.152
"Enjoy the return to near-top form of Elton, pop's favourite pantomime dame."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.102
3 stars out of 5 - "[A] collection of uncomfortably honest damaged-goods love songs set in the cold hours of the a.m..."


  • 1.Weight Of The World
  • 2.Porch Swing In Tupelo
  • 3.Answer In The Sky
  • 4.Turn The Lights Out When You Leave
  • 5.My Elusive Drug
  • 6.They Call Her The Cat
  • 7.Freaks In Love
  • 8.All That I'm Allowed (I'm Thankful)
  • 9.I Stop And I Breathe
  • 10.Too Many Tears
  • 11.It's Getting Dark In Here
  • 12.I Can't Keep This From You
  • 13.The Letter (Bonus Track)
  • 14.Merry Christmas Maggie Thatcher (Bonus Track)
  • 15.Electricity (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Elton John (vocals, piano, Fender Rhodes piano); Davey Johnstone (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, dobro); John Jorgenson (pedal steel guitar); Walter Parazaider (tenor saxophone); Larry Klimas (baritone saxophone); Lee Loughnane (trumpet); Jimmy Pankow (trombone); Guy Babylon (Fender Rhodes piano, Hammond b-3 organ, programming); Bob Birch (bass guitar, background vocals); Nigel Olsson (drums); John Mahon (percussion, programming, background vocals); Mark Ford , Adam McKnight, Charles Bullock, Terrence Davis, L'Tanya Sheilds, Alecia Terry, M. Denise Sims, Rosalind McKinght, Todd Honeycutt (background vocals).
In 2001, Elton John reconvened with longtime lyrical collaborator Bernie Taupin and recorded SONGS FROM THE WEST COAST, a collection that hearkened back to the duo's golden age in the 1970s and immediately drew comparisons to classic albums MADMAN ACROSS THE WATER and HONKY CHATEAU. Three years later, the duo went back into the studio and emerged with PEACHTREE ROAD, a record packed with the kind of rustic-sounding pop that brings to mind TUMBLEWEED CONNECTION (and whose title was inspired by John's adopted home in Georgia).
Keeping it in the musical family, longtime band members Davey Johnstone and Nigel Olsson are aboard, with the former adding musical-director duties to his usual guitar-playing responsibilities. Showcasing a voice that's gotten deeper and richer with age, John wisely sticks to a set that is predominantly made up of ballads, ranging from the lush, "countrypolitan" stylings of "Turn the Lights Out When You Leave" to the more gospel-flavored "Answer in the Sky." John also includes "My Elusive Drug," an uplifting homage to his companion David Furnish. He takes it up a notch with "They Call Her the Cat," a sassy horn-and-harmony-driven stylistic sequel to "Honky Cat."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 147 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Elton John

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498723036
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)