Mary J. Blige Reminisce

10% OFF
Rating 4.6
347 ratings
List Price: $10.99
Your Price: $9.89
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  GEF 000572202
on most orders of $75
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Geffen Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - p.78
"[The albums'] sprawl of conflicted emotions feels true to her fierce, prickly personality." -- Grade: B+
Mojo (Publisher) - p.93
3 stars out of 5 -- "[T]his new album reveals a still intense and enthralling grittiness to her performances..."


  • 1.No One Will Do
  • 2.Enough Cryin
  • 3.About You
  • 4.Be Without You
  • 5.Gonna Breakthrough
  • 6.Good Woman Down
  • 7.Take Me As I Am
  • 8.Baggage
  • 9.Can't Hide From Luv
  • 10.MJB Da MVP
  • 11.Can't Get Enough
  • 12.Ain't Really Love
  • 13.I Found My Everything
  • 14.Father In You
  • 15.Alone
  • 16.One

Product Description:

Personnel: Mary J. Blige (vocals); Dave Young,, Brook (vocals); Jay-Z (rap vocals); Bryan-Michael Cox (various instruments); Raphael Saadiq (guitar, bass guitar); Craig Brockman (keyboards); U2.
After her somewhat lukewarm 2003 release LOVE & LIFE, Mary J. Blige returns to her rightful place as the Queen of Hip-Hop Soul with 2005's THE BREAKTHROUGH. Blige enlisted a host of guest producers to contribute tracks to THE BREAKTHROUGH, and the result is one of her strongest and most varied albums. As usual, the sound is a mixture of smooth, urban contemporary and hip-hop edge, but Blige nails it with tracks like the pulsing "Enough Cryin'" (with its rich, multi-layered vocals) and the breezy "Can't Hide From Luv" featuring a guest spot by Jay-Z.
The album's lead-off single, "Be Without You," a bittersweet slow jam, is representative of the album's themes, which focus on feelings of strength and weakness in love. But whether waxing romantic ("Can't Get Enough") or detailing the travails of the heart ("Baggage"), Blige lays down elastic R&B vocal lines that are second to none. Even a seemingly unlikely duet with Bono and U2 on "One" comes across beautifully, adding a new dimension to that familiar tune.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 347 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Mary J. Blige

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 90,828
  • UPC: 602498871102
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: