The Temptations Emperors of Soul (5-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.7
51 ratings
List Price: $74.98
SALE PRICE: $63.95
You Save: $11.03 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (5 Discs)
Item:  UNI 530338

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: September 13, 1994
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Motown

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/29/94-1/12/95, p.188
5 Stars - Classic - "...Not only was the group able to maintain its identity as it moved from doo-wop to soul harmony to psychedelia and on to funk, but it kept cranking out hits....A document to [The Temptations'] incredible mutability..."
Q - 11/94, p.146
4 Stars - Excellent - "...It all adds up: The Temptations are the greatest vocal harmony group ever. EMPERORS OF SOUL goes most of the way to proving the point..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Come On
  • 2.Oh, Mother Of Mine
  • 3.Romance Without Finance
  • 4.Check Yourself
  • 5.(You're My) Dream Come True
  • 6.Mind Over Matter (I'm Gonna Make You Mine)
  • 7.I'll Love You 'Til I Die
  • 8.Paradise
  • 9.Slow Down Heart
  • 10.I Couldn't Cry If I Wanted To
  • 11.Witchcraft (For Your Love)
  • 12.I Want A Love I Can See
  • 13.The Further You Look, The Less You See
  • 14.Farewell My Love
  • 15.A Tear From A Woman's Eyes
  • 16.The Way You Do The Things You Do
  • 17.I'll Be In Trouble
  • 18.The Girl's Alright With Me
  • 19.Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue)
  • 20.Baby, Baby I Need You
  • 21.My Girl
  • 22.(Talking 'Bout) Nobody But My Baby
  • 23.It's Growing
  • 24.You'll Lose A Precious Love
  • 25.Since I Lost My Baby
  • 26.You've Got To Earn It
  • 27.My Baby
  • 28.Don't Look Back

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Get Ready
  • 2.Fading Away
  • 3.Ain't Too Proud To Beg
  • 4.Too Busy Thinking About My Baby
  • 5.Who You Gonna Run To
  • 6.Beauty Is Only Skin Deep
  • 7.I Got Heaven Right Here On Earth
  • 8.(I Know) I'm Losing You
  • 9.All I Need
  • 10.Sorry Is A Sorry Word
  • 11.I'm Doing It All
  • 12.No More Water In The Well
  • 13.You're My Everything
  • 14.Just One Last Look
  • 15.Angel Doll
  • 16.(Loneliness Made Me Realize) It's You That I Need
  • 17.Don't Send Me Away
  • 18.Hello Young Lovers
  • 19.Ol' Man River
  • 20.I Wish It Would Rain
  • 21.I Truly, Truly Believe
  • 22.I Could Never Love Another (After Loving You)
  • 23.Please Return Your Love To Me
  • 24.How Can I Forget
  • 25.For Once In My Life (Live)
  • 26.My Girl

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Cloud Nine
  • 2.Why Did She Have To Leave Me (Why Did She Have To Go)
  • 3.I'm Gonna Make You Love Me
  • 4.I'll Try Something New
  • 5.Runaway Child, Running Wild
  • 6.Don't Let The Joneses Get You Down
  • 7.I Can't Get Next To You
  • 8.Message From A Black Man
  • 9.War
  • 10.Psychedelic Shack
  • 11.Hum Along And Dance
  • 12.Ball Of Confusion (That's What The World Is Today)
  • 13.Ungena Za Ulimwengu (Unite The World)
  • 14.Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
  • 15.Take A Look Around
  • 16.It's Summer
  • 17.Superstar (Remember How You Got Where You Are)
  • 18.I Ain't Got Nothin'
  • 19.Mother Nature
  • 20.Papa Was A Rollin' Stone

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Masterpiece
  • 2.Plastic Man
  • 3.Hey Girl (I Like Your Style)
  • 4.Law Of The Land
  • 5.Let Your Hair Down
  • 6.Heavenly
  • 7.You've Got My Soul On Fire
  • 8.Happy People
  • 9.Shakey Ground
  • 10.Glasshouse
  • 11.A Song For You
  • 12.Memories
  • 13.Keep Holding On
  • 14.Darling, Stand By Me (Song For My Woman)
  • 15.Who Are You
  • 16.In A Lifetime
  • 17.Power
  • 18.Isn't The Night Fantastic
  • 19.Aiming At Your Heart

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Standing On The Top, Part 1
  • 2.Sail Away
  • 3.Treat Her Like A Lady
  • 4.My Love Is True (Truly For You)
  • 5.Do You Really Love Your Baby
  • 6.Magic
  • 7.Lady Soul
  • 8.I Wonder Who She's Seeing Now
  • 9.Look What You Started
  • 10.Soul To Soul
  • 11.Special
  • 12.My Kind Of Woman
  • 13.Hoops Of Fire
  • 14.Error Of Our Ways
  • 15.Givin' U The Best
  • 16.Elevator Eyes
  • 17.Blueprint For Love

Product Description:

The Temptations: Melvin Franklin, Otis Williams, Eldridge Bryant, Eddie Kendricks, Paul Williams, David Ruffin, Dennis Edwards, Ricky Owens, Richard Street, Damon Harris, Glenn Leonard, Louis Price, Ron Tyson, Ali-Ollie Woodson, Theo Peoples.
Additional personnel includes: Eddie Willis (guitar); Detroit Symphony Orchetra (strings); Danya Hartwick (flute, piccolo); Andrew "Mike" Terry (saxophone); Marcus Belgrave (trumpet); Paul Riser (trombone); Johnny Griffith (piano, organ, keyboards); Earl Van Dyke (piano, keyboards); Richard "Pocorn" Wylie (piano); Jack Ashford (vibraphone, marimba, percussion); James Jamerson (acoustic & electric bass); Robert Finch (drums); Norman Whitfield (tambourine); Eddie "Bongo" Brown (congas, bongos, percussion); Paulinho Da Costa (percussion).
Producers include: Dre-Mic, Berry Gordy, Clarence Paul, Smokey Robinson, Norman Whitfield.
Compilation producer: Harry Weinger.
Recorded between 1959 and 1994. Includes liner notes by Harry Weinger and Nelson George.
Digitally remastered by Joseph P. Palmaccio (PolyGram Studios).
This is part of the Motown Master series.
EMPERORS OF SOUL contains 110 songs, including 10 previously unreleased tracks, 4 brand new recordings, and 7 tracks never found on any album. Also included is an 80-page booklet with detailed track by track annotations, rare photos and interviews, and a complete discography.
The Temptations became one of the most successful singles groups of the '60s--ever, actually--by making hearstopping, doo-wop influenced soul ballads and emotionally raw dance music, but also by adapting to the times. In their earliest incarnation, David Ruffin's scratchy soul voice (as heard in "Ain't Too Proud To Beg"), Eddie Kendricks' high creamy croon ("My Girl") and some of Smokey Robinson's best songs (he was their first producer) gave the Temptations appeal to both hardcore rhythm and blues and mainstream pop audiences. When Ruffin and then Kendricks left, the band, now under the auspices of writer-producer Norman Whitfield, soldiered on and, with new lead singer Dennis Edwards, made some of the most funky and socially conscious--and still marvelously commercial--singles of the late '60s and early '70s, including "Ball Of Confusion" and "Papa Was A Rolling Stone."
Because they were almost strictly a singles group, their career was loaded with album tracks and B-sides--some of which would have made ace singles themselves--which history has left on the relics pile and which huge box sets like EMPERORS OF SOUL were created to rescue. The Motown-meets-Stax tune "You've Got To Earn It," which was stuck on the B-side of "Since I Lost My Baby," is about as fine a throwaway as you can bury in such a location; "No More Water In The Well" features a deep-soul vocal by Ruffin that resonates with all the rhythm and blues that came before. There are later treasures too, including such minor '70s singles as "Take A Look Around," a cinematically-orchestrated Norman Whitfield-Barrett Strong ballad about the drug-ravaged inner city. Not surprisingly, that one still resonates, too.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 51 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rating 5.0 Emperors of Soul Music Lover: from PHILADELPHIA, PA US -- February, 28, 2013

I own the this in casesette for over 25years and do intend to get on Cd if your youth was during the 60's you will enjoys this greatly

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Temptations

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 18,074
  • UPC: 731453033825
  • Shipping Weight: 1.44/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

Top ranking CD: