Booker T. & The MG's Time Is Tight (3-CD)

Time Is Tight (3-CD)
20 ratings
Price: $35.98
List Price: $39.98
You Save: $4 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  32HRJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Stax

Description by

As the house rhythm section at Stax Records, Booker T. & the MGs all but single-handedly shaped the course of Southern soul music in the Sixties. Besides providing solid, consistently creative backing for the Memphis company's legion of great soul singers, the quartet created a body of instrumental recordings that, in the words of producer/annotator Rob Bowman, "always exuded a palpable sense of majesty, grace, and dignity." Contained herein are all of the band's major hits--from "Green Onions" in 1962 to "Melting Pot" in 1971 - plus many classic album tracks, rare B-sides, and a cross-section of the reunited group's work in the Nineties--every selection a masterpiece of timbral nuance and tight timekeeping.

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 1/99, p.102
"...a must for any serious soul fan....these recordings sound incredibly fresh and provide the ultimate portrait of one of the grooviest instrumental bands ever."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Green Onions
  • 2.Behave Yourself
  • 3.Jellybread
  • 4.Home Grown
  • 5.Burnt Biscuits
  • 6.Chinese
  • 7.Mo' Onions
  • 8.Tic-Tac-Toe
  • 9.Fannie Mae
  • 10.Soul Dressing
  • 11.Can't Be Still
  • 12.Boot-Leg
  • 13.Outrage
  • 14.Be My Lady
  • 15.My Sweet Potato
  • 16.Hip Hug-Her
  • 17.Summertime
  • 18.Slim Jenkins' Place
  • 19.Groovin'
  • 20.Soul Sanctions
  • 21.Pigmy
  • 22.Booker's Notion
  • 23.I Can Dig It
  • 24.Expressway
  • 25.You Don't Love Me
  • 26.Never My Love
  • 27.Blue On Green
  • 28.Ode To Billie Joe

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Soul Limbo
  • 2.Heads Or Tails
  • 3.Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy
  • 4.Hang 'Em High
  • 5.Willow Weep For Me
  • 6.Over Easy
  • 7.Time Is tight
  • 8.Jonny, I Love
  • 9.Lady Madonna
  • 10.Mrs. Robinson
  • 11.Soul Clap '69
  • 12.I've Never Found A Girl (To Love Me Like You Do) TRACK: 2
  • 13.You're All I Need To Get By
  • 14.It's Your Thing
  • 15.Something
  • 16.Sunday Sermon
  • 17.McLemore Avenue
  • 18.Medley
  • 19.Chicken Pox
  • 20.Melting Pot

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Gotta Serve Somebody
  • 2.Lay Lady Lay
  • 3.MG Party
  • 4.Terrible Thing
  • 5.Hole In The Wall
  • 6.(Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay
  • 7.Booker's Theme
  • 8.Alberts Rap
  • 9.Born Under A Bad Sign
  • 10.Medley: I'm With You / I Don't Mind / Oh, Baby Don't You Weep TRACK: 3
  • 11.Mediation
  • 12.Green Onions
  • 13.Sarasota Sunset
  • 14.I've Been Loving you Too Long (To Stop Now) TRACK: 3
  • 15.Hang 'Em High
  • 16.Time Is Tight
  • 17.(Sittin' On) The Dock Of Bay

Product Description:

Booker T. & The MG's: Booker T. Jones (vocals, trombone, organ, piano); Steve Cropper (guitar, percussion); Lewie Steinberg, Donald "Duck" Dunn (bass); Al Jackson, Jr. (drums).
Additional personnel: Neil Young (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Albert King (vocals, guitar); Boz Scaggs (vocals); G.E. Smith (guitar); Charles "Packy" Axton (tenor saxophone); Floyd Newman (baritone saxophone); Gene Parker, Wayne Jackson (trumpet); Isaac Hayes (piano, keybaords, cowbell); Leon Haywood (organ); William Allan (keyboards); Terry Manning (marimba); Earl Grant (bass); Anton Fig, Jim Keltner, Steve Potts (drums); Magnificent Montague (congas).
Producer: Booker T. & The MG's.
Compilation producers: Rob Bowman, Bill Belmont.
Recorded between 1962 and 1993. Includes liner notes by Bill Belmont and Rob Bowman.
Personnel: Neil Young (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Albert King (vocals, guitar); Booker T. Jones (vocals, trombone, piano, organ); Boz Scaggs (vocals); Steve Cropper (guitar, percussion); G.E. Smith (electric guitar); Charles "Packy" Axton (tenor saxophone); Floyd Newman (baritone saxophone); Gene Parker, Wayne Jackson (trumpet); Isaac Hayes (piano, keyboards, cowbells); Leon Haywood (organ); Terry Manning (marimba); Steve Potts , Jim Keltner, Al Jackson, Jr. , Anton Fig (drums).
Audio Mixer: Tim Mulligan.
Audio Remasterer: Kirk Felton.
Liner Note Author: Rob Bowman.
Recording information: Concert Hall, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (06/??/1962-07/03/1994); New York, NY (06/??/1962-07/03/1994); Pine Knob, MI (06/??/1962-07/03/1994); Stax Studios, Memphis, TN (06/??/1962-07/03/1994).
Photographer: Joel Brodsky.
Arranger: Booker T. & the MG's.
Even though the average pop fan only knows Booker T and the MGs for their biggest Top 40 hit under their own name, the supremely funky instrumental "Green Onions," they were THE backing band of the '60s. Nearly every one of the classic Stax/Volt singles of this era--by Sam and Dave, Otis Redding and a seemingly endless list of others--features organist Booker T. Jones, bassist Donald "Duck" Dunn, superlative guitarist Steve Cropper and powerhouse drummer Al Jackson Jr.
TIME IS TIGHT collects most of the MGs' singles, plus unreleased goodies and live tracks; this three-disc set is the bedrock of Memphis soul. Booker T and the MGs were able to make "Ode To Billy Joe" and "Never My Love" sound funky, for cryin' out loud! Plus, the set includes a lengthy slice of MCLEMORE AVENUE, the group's brilliant, underappreciated song-by-song cover of the Beatles' ABBEY ROAD. Pure genius.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 20 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Booker T. & The MG's

Product Info

  • UPC: 025218442428
  • Shipping Weight: 1.17/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)