Tony Bennett The Complete Improv Recordings (4-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
The Complete Improv Recordings (4-CD)
28% OFF
Rating 4.8
4 ratings
List Price: $49.98
SALE PRICE: $35.97
You Save: $14.01 (28% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (4 Discs)
Item:  COJ 42255

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Concord Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Life Is Beautiful
  • 2.All Mine
  • 3.Bridges (Travessia)
  • 4.Reflections
  • 5.Experiment
  • 6.This Funny World
  • 7.As Time Goes By
  • 8.I Used to Be Color Blind
  • 9.Lost in the Stars
  • 10.There'll Be Some Changes Made
  • 11.Cole Porter Medley
  • 12.There's Always Tomorrow
  • 13.One
  • 14.Mr. Magic

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.This Can't Be Love
  • 2.Blue Moon
  • 3.Lady Is a Tramp
  • 4.Lover
  • 5.Manhattan
  • 6.Spring Is Here
  • 7.Have You Met Miss Jones?
  • 8.Isn't It Romantic?
  • 9.Wait Till You See Her
  • 10.I Could Write a Book
  • 11.Thou Swell
  • 12.Most Beautiful Girl in the World
  • 13.There's a Small Hotel
  • 14.I've Got Five Dollars
  • 15.You Took Advantage of Me
  • 16.I Wish I Were in Love Again
  • 17.This Funny World
  • 18.My Heart Stood Still
  • 19.My Romance
  • 20.Mountain Greenery
  • 21.This Can't Be Love (Alternate, Take #1)
  • 22.I Could Write a Book (Alternate, Take #2)
  • 23.Thou Swell (Alternate, Take #1)
  • 24.Most Beautiful Girl in the World (Alternate, Take #4) TRACK: 2
  • 25.I Wish I Were in Love Again (Alternate, Take #1)
  • 26.This Funny World (Alternate, Take #3)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Bad and the Beautiful
  • 2.Lucky to Be Me
  • 3.Make Someone Happy
  • 4.You're Nearer
  • 5.Child Is Born
  • 6.Two Lonely People
  • 7.You Don't Know What Love Is
  • 8.Maybe September
  • 9.Lonely Girl
  • 10.You Must Believe in Spring
  • 11.Who Can I Turn To?
  • 12.Dream Dancing
  • 13.Bad and the Beautiful (Alternate, Take #1) (Take) TRACK: 3
  • 14.Bad and the Beautiful (Alternate, Take #2) (Take)
  • 15.Make Someone Happy (Alternate, Take #5) (Take)
  • 16.You're Nearer (Alternate, Take #9) (Take)
  • 17.Child Is Born (Alternate, Take #2) (Take)
  • 18.Child Is Born (Alternate, Take #7) (Take)
  • 19.Two Lonely People (Alternate, Take #5) (Take) TRACK: 3
  • 20.You Don't Know What Love Is (Alternate, Take #16) (Take)
  • 21.You Don't Know What Love Is (Alternate, Take #18) (Take)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Maybe September (Alternate, Take #5) (Take)
  • 2.Maybe September (Alternate, Take #8) (Take)
  • 3.Lonely Girl (Alternate, Take #1) (Take)
  • 4.You Must Believe in Spring (Alternate, Take #1) (Take) TRACK: 4
  • 5.You Must Believe in Spring (Alternate, Take #4)
  • 6.You Must Believe in Spring (Alternate, Take #6)(Take)
  • 7.Who Can I Turn To?
  • 8.Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise (Instrumental) TRACK: 4
  • 9.Stompin' at the Savoy (Instrumental)
  • 10.While We're Young
  • 11.In a Mellow Tone
  • 12.It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing) (Instrumental)
  • 13.Let's Do It (Instrumental)
  • 14.'S Wonderful
  • 15.I Left My Heart in San Francisco
  • 16.Let's Do It
  • 17.S'Wonderful
  • 18.I Left My Heart In San Francisco

Product Description:

Personnel: Tony Bennett (vocals); George Barnes, Wayne Wright, Charlie Byrd (guitar); Herb Hall (clarinet); Spider Martin, Buddy Tate (saxophone); Jimmy McPartland (trumpet, cornet); Ruby Braff (cornet); Vic Dickenson (trombone); Marian McPartland, Torrie Zito, Bill Evans (piano); John Giuffrida, Brian Torff (double bass); Joe Cocuzzo, Chuck Hughes , George Reed (drums).
Liner Note Author: Will Friedwald.
Arranger: Torrie Zito.
For those new to the music of Tony Bennett, Improv was a label started by Tony Bennett and businessman Bill Hassett. Bennett was fed up with the suits at Columbia Records, who were trying to make him sing rock & roll. When his contract expired at the beginning of the 1970s, he and Hassett formed a label to help him realize his aesthetic ambitions, and Improv was born. Bennett recorded five albums for the label between 1975 and 1977 before it went bankrupt. These recordings may not have sold well -- due largely to distribution problems -- but all of them were critically acclaimed. On these sides, Bennett is in awesome company throughout, with talent ranging from Bill Evans and Earl Hines to Ruby Braff to Marian McPartland to Buddy Tate and Charlie Byrd. The albums included here are Tony Bennett Sings 10 Rodgers and Hart Songs, Tony Bennett Sings More Great Rodgers & Hart, Tony Bennett and Bill Evans Together Again (this was the follow-up to the Fantasy set entitled The Tony Bennett/Bill Evans Album and is easily the better of the two), Life Is Beautiful, and Tony Bennett With the McPartlands and Friends Make Magnificent Music. While the original albums have been issued on CD before, complete sessions have never been available until now. Along with the original LPs are unissued alternate takes, 45s, and even an unreleased tune finished for a particular session but never used. In addition, the album with the McPartlands is here on compact disc for the first time. It should also be noted that this box finally completes the two different Tony Bennett and Bill Evans Together Again CD issues that were released on Rhino and Concord with different material. Collectors will find the box irresistible as much for its fine, if simple, presentation as for the material itself. The liner essay by jazz writer Will Friewald is not only informative about the period and the label, but is exhaustive in its discussion of the recording sessions. This is a reasonably priced multi-disc collection that offers an intimate, up-close view of a restlessly original artist during the biggest gamble of his professional career. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Tony Bennett

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 6,622
  • UPC: 013431225522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.58/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

Top ranking titles in the Vocals genre:

Top ranking CD: