Muddy Waters The Chess Box (3-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
The Chess Box (3-CD)
10% OFF
Rating 4.9
25 ratings
List Price: $49.98
Your Price: $44.97
You Save: $5.01 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (3 Discs)
Item:  CHE 80002

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: March 3, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Chess

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Gypsy Woman
  • 2.Good Looking Woman
  • 3.Mean Disposition
  • 4.I Can't Be Satisfied
  • 5.I Feel Like Going Home
  • 6.Train Fare Home
  • 7.Mean Red Spider
  • 8.Streamline Woman
  • 9.Little Geneva
  • 10.Rollin' And Tumblin', Part 1
  • 11.Rollin' Stone
  • 12.Walkin' Blues
  • 13.Louisiana Blues
  • 14.Evans Shuffle
  • 15.Long Distance Call
  • 16.Honey Bee
  • 17.She Moves Me
  • 18.Still A Fool
  • 19.Stuff You Gotta Watch
  • 20.Standing Around Crying
  • 21.Flood
  • 22.Baby, Please Don't Go
  • 23.Blow Wind Blow
  • 24.(I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I Just Want To Make Love To You
  • 2.I'm Ready
  • 3.Smokestack Lightnin'
  • 4.Young Fashioned Ways
  • 5.Mannish Boy
  • 6.Trouble No More
  • 7.Forty Days And Forty Nights
  • 8.Just To Be With You
  • 9.Don't Go No Farther
  • 10.Diamonds At Your Feet
  • 11.I Love The Life I Live (I Live The Life I Love)
  • 12.Rock Me
  • 13.Look What You've Done
  • 14.Got My Mojo Working
  • 15.Good News
  • 16.Evil
  • 17.She's Nineteen Years Old
  • 18.Close To You
  • 19.Walkin' Thru The Park
  • 20.Blues Before Sunrise
  • 21.Lonesome Road Blues
  • 22.Take The Bitter With The Sweet
  • 23.She's Into Something
  • 24.Southbound Train
  • 25.Double Trouble

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.I Feel So Good
  • 2.You Shook Me
  • 3.You Need Love
  • 4.Twenty Four Hours
  • 5.Elevate Me Mama
  • 6.So Glad I'm Living
  • 7.My Love Strikes Like Lightning
  • 8.You Don't Have To Go
  • 9.Things That I Used To Do
  • 10.My Home Is In The Delta
  • 11.Good Morning, Little Schoolgirl
  • 12.The Same Thing
  • 13.You Can't Lose What You Never Had
  • 14.Short Dress Woman
  • 15.Making Friends
  • 16.Black Night
  • 17.Bird Nest On The Ground
  • 18.Country Boy
  • 19.Sugar Sweet
  • 20.All Aboard
  • 21.Going Down Slow
  • 22.Who's Gonna Be Your Sweet Man When I'm Gone
  • 23.Can't Get No Grindin'

Product Description:

HE CHESS BOX covers Muddy Waters' career from 1947 through 1972. It features some previously-unreleased tracks, and many others previously unreleased in the U.S. The box includes a 32-page book with a complete discography of Waters' Chess recordings, track-by-track recording information and black-and-white photos.
Personnel includes: Muddy Waters (vocals, guitar); Little Walter (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Jimmy Rogers (vocals, guitar); Leroy Foster, Auburn "Pat" Hare, Luther Tucker, Earl Hooker, Buddy Guy, Sammy Lawhorn, Pee Wee Madison, Michael Bloomfield, Paul Asbell, Rory Gallagher (guitar); Walter "Shakey" Horton, James Cotton, Paul Oscher, Paul Butterfield, Jeff Carp, Carey Bell Harrington (harmonica); Alex Atkins (alto saxophone); Marcus Johnson, A.C. Reed, Ernest Cotton (tenor saxophone); Pinetop Perkins (piano, harpsichord, organ); John "Big Moose" Walker (piano, organ); Sunnyland Slim, Otis Spann (piano) Willie Dixon, Donald "Duck" Dunn, Phil Upchurch, Ric Grech (bass); Fred Below, Francis Clay, Sam Lay, Mitch Mitchell (drums).
Producers include: Leonard Chess, Phil Chess, Ralph Bass, Gene Barge, Norman Dayron.
Compilation producer: Andy McKaie.
Principally recorded in Chicago, Illinois between 1947 and 1972. Includes liner notes by Mary Katherine Aldin and Robert Palmer.
Personnel: Muddy Waters (vocals, guitar); Jimmy Rogers (vocals, guitar); Little Walter (guitar, harmonica); James "Pee Wee" Madison, Earl Hooker, Auburn Hare, Leroy Foster, Luther Tucker, Michael Bloomfield, Rory Gallagher, Sammy Lawhorn, Buddy Guy (guitar); Carey Bell Harrington, James Cotton , Paul Butterfield, Paul Oscher, Big Walter Horton, Junior Wells (harmonica); Alex Atkins (alto saxophone); Marcus Johnson , J.T. Brown, A.C. Reed (tenor saxophone); Johnny "Big Moose" Walker (piano, organ); Otis Spann, Sunnyland Slim (piano); Elgin Evans (drums, washboard); Clifton James, Francis Clay, Fred Below, S.P. Leary, Sam Lay, Willie "Big Eyes" Smith, Mitch Mitchell, Casey Jones (drums); Leonard Chess (bass drum).
Audio Remixers: John Strother; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Authors: Mary Katherine Aldin; Robert Palmer .
Recording information: Chicago, IL (??/1947-03/1972); London, England (??/1947-03/1972); Mister Kelly's (??/1947-03/1972); Montreux Jazz Festival, Switzerland (??/1947-03/1972); Newport Jazz Festival, Newport, RI (??/1947-03/1972).
Photographers: Ray Flerlage; David Gahr; Jacques Dem?tre; Don Bronstein; Valerie Wilmer; Frank Driggs; George Adins; Brian Smith ; Paul Natkin; James Bland; Jim O'Neal; Mary Katherine Aldin.
Unknown Contributor Roles: Mike Leadbitter; Michel Ruppli; Tom Lofgren.
During the '40s and '50s, Chicago's Chess Records recorded a legion of blues legends. But none were greater than McKinley Morganfield, professionally known as Muddy Waters. Though born and raised on the Mississippi delta, Waters came to personify the brash, confident blues that blossomed in Chicago and Memphis in the post-war era. Between 1947 and 1972, Waters cut an uninterrupted stream of brilliant sides for Chess, the best of which are included on the three-disc CHESS BOX.
To call these recordings indispensable is merely to state the obvious. Any one of the following would place these records among the most important in blues history--Waters' deft slide guitar playing and intense vocals; stellar instrumental support from the legendary Little Walter; Otis Spann, James Cotton, and Buddy Guy, to name but a few of the blues greats who first worked with Waters; and a repertoire of classics that includes "Hoochie Coochie Man," "Rolling Stone," and "I Just Want to Make Love to You." The length and cost of this set may intimidate some (the single-disc HIS BEST is a less overwhelming alternative), but true blues lovers should consider investing in THE CHESS BOX, the best career overview of this undisputed giant of the blues.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 25 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Muddy Waters

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 100,772
  • UPC: 076741080229
  • Shipping Weight: 1.61/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items