Howlin' Wolf The Chess Box (3-CD)

The Chess Box (3-CD)
29 ratings
List Price: $49.98
Price: $44.98
You Save: $5 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  32HJ9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Chess

Entertainment Reviews:

Musician - 1/92, p.88
"..whatever your taste, you'd have to be deaf not to respond to Wolf's Chicago classics..."Moanin' At Midnight" is one of the great moments in audio history.."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Moanin' At Midnight
  • Buy for $0.992.How Many More Years
  • Buy for $0.993.Howlin' Wolf Boogie
  • Buy for $0.994.The Wolf Is At Your Door
  • Buy for $0.995.Mr. Highway Man
  • Buy for $0.996.Howlin' Wolf Talks #1
  • Buy for $0.997.Bluebird
  • Buy for $0.998.Saddle My Pony
  • Buy for $0.999.(Well) That's All Right
  • Buy for $0.9910.My Last Affair
  • Buy for $0.9911.Just My Kind
  • Buy for $0.9912.Work For Your Money
  • Buy for $0.9913.Mama Died And Left Me
  • Buy for $0.9914.All Night Boogie (All Night Long)
  • Buy for $0.9915.Streamline Woman
  • Buy for $0.9916.Crazy About You Baby
  • Buy for $0.9917.You Gonna Wreck My Life
  • Buy for $0.9918.Neighbors
  • Buy for $0.9919.Howlin' Wolf Talks #2
  • Buy for $0.9920.I'm The Wolf
  • Buy for $0.9921.Rockin' Daddy
  • Buy for $0.9922.Baby How Long
  • Buy for $0.9923.Evil (Is Going On)
  • Buy for $0.9924.I'll Be Around
  • Buy for $0.9925.Forty Four
  • Buy for $0.9926.Who Will Be Next

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Don't Mess With My Baby
  • Buy for $1.292.Smokestack Lightnin'
  • Buy for $0.993.You Can't Be Beat
  • Buy for $0.994.Howlin' Wolf Talks #3
  • Buy for $0.995.I Asked For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)
  • Buy for $0.996.The Natchez Burnin'
  • Buy for $0.997.Who's Been Talking?
  • Buy for $0.998.Tell Me
  • Buy for $0.999.Sitting On Top Of The World
  • Buy for $0.9910.I Didn't Know
  • Buy for $0.9911.Moaning For My Baby
  • Buy for $0.9912.Change My Way
  • Buy for $0.9913.I Better Go Now
  • Buy for $0.9914.Howlin' For My Darling
  • Buy for $0.9915.I've Been Abused
  • Buy for $0.9916.Mr. Airplane Man
  • Buy for $0.9917.Wang Dang Doodle
  • Buy for $1.2918.Back Door Man
  • Buy for $0.9919.Howlin' Wolf Talks #4
  • Buy for $1.2920.Spoonful
  • Buy for $0.9921.Down In The Bottom
  • Buy for $0.9922.Shake For Me
  • Buy for $0.9923.The Red Rooster
  • Buy for $0.9924.You'll Be Mine
  • Buy for $0.9925.Just Like I Treat You
  • Buy for $0.9926.I Ain't Superstitious
  • Buy for $0.9927.Goin' Down Slow
  • Buy for $0.9928.Tail Dragger

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • Buy for $0.991.Hidden Charms
  • Buy for $0.992.Three Hundred Pounds Of Joy
  • Buy for $0.993.Built For Comfort
  • Buy for $0.994.Love Me Darlin'
  • Buy for $0.995.Killing Floor
  • Buy for $0.996.My Country Sugar Mama
  • Buy for $0.997.Louise
  • Buy for $0.998.I Walked From Dallas
  • Buy for $0.999.Tell Me What I've Done
  • Buy for $0.9910.Don't Laugh At Me
  • Buy for $0.9911.Ooh Baby (Hold Me)
  • Buy for $0.9912.New Crawlin' King Snake
  • Buy for $0.9913.My Mind Is Ramblin'
  • Buy for $0.9914.Commit A Crime
  • Buy for $0.9915.Dust My Broom
  • Buy for $0.9916.I'm The Wolf
  • Buy for $0.9917.Ain't Goin' Down That Dirt Road
  • Buy for $0.9918.Mary Sue
  • Buy for $0.9919.Hard Luck
  • Buy for $0.9920.The Red Rooster
  • Buy for $0.9921.Moving

Product Description:

This, the fifth in the series of Chess boxes, contains 71 tracks sequenced chronologically from 1951-1973. Digitally remastered from original master tapes and 78s, it includes two previously unknown solo acoustic guitar and vocal performances ("Ain't Going Down That Dirt Road" and "I'm the Wolf"), four segments from HOWLIN' WOLF TALKS and 17 tracks either previously unreleased in the US or on LP.
Personnel includes: Howlin' Wolf (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Willie Johnson, Hubert Sumlin (guitar); J.T. Brown (tenor saxophone); James Cotton (harmonica); Hosea Lee Kennard, Lafayette Leake, Johnny Jones (piano); Willie Dixon, Buddy Guy (bass); Willie Steele, Sam Lay (drums).
28 of the tracks are in stereo, including previously unissued versions of "Killing Floor", "Spoonful" and "I Ain't Superstitious". The package includes a 32-page LP-sized booklet, with 2 sets of liner notes containing a biography, track-by-track annotation, a Chess discography and rare photos.
Personnel: Howlin' Wolf (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, harmonica); Willie Dixon (vocals); Eric Clapton, Freddie King, L.D. McGhee, Lee Cooper, Hubert Sumlin, Jimmy Rogers , Jody Williams, Willie Harris, Willie Johnson, Buddy Guy (guitar); Jeffrey M. Carp, James Cotton (harmonica); Abe Locke, Adolph Duncan, J.T. Brown, Arnold Rogers (tenor saxophone); Donald Hankins (baritone saxophone); L.C. Hubert, Henry Gray, Ike Turner, Hosea Lee Kennard, Lafayette Leake, Otis Spann, Albert Williams (piano); Steve Winwood (organ); Earl Phillips, Fred Below, Junior Blackman, S.P. Leary, Sam Lay, Charlie Watts (drums).
Audio Remixers: Andy McKaie; John Strother; Bill Inglot.
Liner Note Authors: Dick Shurman; Chris Morris.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (1951-1973); Memphis, TN (1951-1973).
Photographers: Ray Flerlage; David Gahr; Ernest C. Withers; Frank Scott; Henry Diltz; Peter Lee ; Douglas Fulton; Steve Cushing; Brian Smith .
Chester "Howlin' Wolf'" Burnett's razor-like voice was one of the signature sounds of post-war Chicago electric blues, and the three-disc CHESS BOX is the definitive document of his landmark recordings for the label that the Chess brothers made into the ultimate conduit for classic Chicago blues. Though coming from similar stylistic roots to his contemporary Muddy Waters, the Wolf had more of an edge to his sound. Where Muddy came across as a confident, grounded man, Burnett often seemed desperate and slightly crazed, as if he might come unhinged at any moment. The physically huge Burnett was indeed an intimidating presence, and such tracks as "Evil" and "How Many More Years" bear a dark, almost scary aura. The Wolf's monolithic status is further borne out when one considers how many of the songs included here ("Smokestack Lightnin'," "Killing Floor," "Spoonful") were the building blocks for nearly every important US and UK rock band that began in the first half of the 1960s. THE CHESS BOX is an absolutely essential slab of blues history.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 29 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Howlin' Wolf

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 112,540
  • UPC: 076732933220
  • Shipping Weight: 1.60/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)