Chuck Berry The Chess Box (3-CD)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.7
35 ratings
List Price: $49.98
SALE PRICE: $41.95
You Save: $8.03 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (3 Discs)
Item:  UNI 410801

Related products:

Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: November 28, 1988
  • Originally Released: 1995
  • Label: Chess

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Maybellene
  • 2.Wee Wee Hours
  • 3.Thirty Days
  • 4.You Can't Catch Me
  • 5.No Money Down
  • 6.Down Bound Train
  • 7.Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  • 8.Drifting Heart
  • 9.Roll Over Beethoven
  • 10.Too Much Monkey Business
  • 11.Havana Moon
  • 12.School Day (Ring Ring Goes The Bell)
  • 13.Rock And Roll Music
  • 14.Oh Baby Doll
  • 15.I've Changed
  • 16.Reelin' And Rockin'
  • 17.Rockin' At The Philharmonic
  • 18.Sweet Little Sixteen
  • 19.Johnny B. Goode
  • 20.Time Was
  • 21.Around And Around
  • 22.Beautiful Delilah
  • 23.House Of Blue Lights
  • 24.Carol

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Memphis
  • 2.Anthony Boy
  • 3.Jo Jo Gunne
  • 4.Sweet Little Rock 'n' Roller
  • 5.Merry Christmas Baby
  • 6.Run Rudolph Run
  • 7.Little Queenie
  • 8.Almost Grown
  • 9.Back In The U.S.A.
  • 10.Betty Jean
  • 11.Childhood Sweetheart
  • 12.Let It Rock
  • 13.Too Pooped To Pop
  • 14.Bye Bye Johnny
  • 15.Jaguar And Thunderbird
  • 16.Down The Road Apiece
  • 17.Confessin' The Blues
  • 18.Thirteen Question Method
  • 19.Crying Steel
  • 20.I'm Just A Lucky So And So
  • 21.I'm Talking About You
  • 22.Come On
  • 23.Nadine (Is It You?)
  • 24.Crazy Arms
  • 25.You Never Can Tell
  • 26.The Things I Used To Do
  • 27.Promised Land

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.No Particular Place To Go
  • 2.Liverpool Drive
  • 3.You Two
  • 4.Chuck's Beat
  • 5.Little Marie
  • 6.Dear Dad
  • 7.Sad Day, Long Night
  • 8.It's My Own Business
  • 9.It Wasn't Me
  • 10.Ramona Say Yes
  • 11.Viva Viva Rock 'N' Roll
  • 12.Tulane
  • 13.Have Mercy Judge
  • 14.My Dream
  • 15.Reelin' and Rockin'
  • 16.My Ding-A-Ling
  • 17.Johnny B. Goode
  • 18.A Deuce
  • 19.Woodpecker
  • 20.Bio

Product Description:

THE CHESS BOX is a comprehensive box set containing 71 digitally remastered tracks in chronological order of recording. The set also includes a 36 page booklet containing an interview and liner notes.
Personnel includes: Chuck Berry (vocals, guitar, piano); Jimmy Rogers, Bo Diddley, Matt Murphy, Jeff Blador, Owen McEntyre, Billy Peek, Wayne "Tex" Gabriel (guitar); Peter Hogan (harmonica); L.C. Davis (tenor saxophone); Stan Bronstein (saxophone); Johnnie Johnson, Otis Spann, Lafayette Leake, Paul Williams, Dave Kafinetti, Adam Ippolito (piano); Bob Baldo (electric piano); Willie Dixon, G. Smith, Chuck Bernard, Jack Groendal, Nick Potter, Greg Edick, Gary Van Scyoc (bass); Jasper Thomas, Eddie Hardy, Fred Below, Odie Payne, Bill Metros, Robbie McIntosh, Ron Reed, Rick Franks (drums); Jerome Green (maracas); Martha Berry, The Ecuadors (background vocals).
Recorded between 1954 & 1973.
Digitally remastered by Doug Schwartz (MCA Studios, Glendale, California).
Personnel: Chuck Berry (vocals, guitar, piano); Billy Peek, Jimmy Rogers , Matt "Guitar" Murphy, Owen McIntyre, Bo Diddley (guitar); Stan Bronstein (saxophone); L.C. Davis (tenor saxophone); Dave Kafinetti, Paul Williams , Johnnie Johnson, Lafayette Leake, Otis Spann, Adam Ippolito (piano); Chuck Bernard, Jack "Zocko" Groendal, Nic Potter, Gary VanScyoc (electric bass); Fred Below, Bill Metros, Eddie Hardy, Odie Payne, Jr., Robbie McIntosh , Rick Frank, Jasper Thomas (drums); Jerome Green (maracas); Martha Berry (background vocals).
Audio Remasterer: Doug Schwartz.
Liner Note Author: Billy Altman.
Recording information: Chicago, IL (05/21/1955-??/??/1973); Lanchester Arts Festival, Coventry England (05/21/1955-??/??/1973); Lansing, MI (05/21/1955-??/??/1973); New York, NY (05/21/1955-??/??/1973).
A seminal figure in the evolution of rock 'n' roll, Chuck Berry's influence as songwriter and guitarist is incalculable. His cogent songs captured adolescent life, yet the artist was 30 years old when he commenced recording. In 1955, during a chance visit to Chicago, Berry met bluesman Muddy Waters, who advised the young singer to approach the Chess label. Berry's demo of 'Ida May', was sufficient to win a recording contract and the composition, retitled 'Maybellene', duly became his debut single. Berry enjoyed further hits with 'Thirty Days' and 'No Money Down', but it was his third recording session that proved even more productive, producing a stream of classics, 'Roll Over Beethoven', 'Too Much Monkey Business' and 'Brown-Eyed Handsome Man'. The artist's subsequent releases read like a lexicon of pop history - 'School Days', 'Rock And Roll Music' (all 1957), 'Sweet Little Sixteen', 'Reelin' And Rockin', 'Johnny B. Goode' (1958), 'Back In The USA', 'Let It Rock' (1960) and 'Bye Bye Johnny' (1960) are but a handful of the peerless songs written and recorded during this prolific period.
Berry was inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame in 1986. His stature as an essential figure in the evolution of popular music cannot be underestimated.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 35 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Chuck Berry

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 24,687
  • UPC: 076741080120
  • Shipping Weight: 1.73/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

Top ranking CD: